Access to Justice Committee

The Access to Justice Committee develops and implements policy and initiatives to assist lawyers, the organized bar, law schools, legal services organizations & pro bono programs in providing access to the justice system for the poor & marginalized.

Immediate Past Chair
Sherrard Roe Voigt & Harbison
150 3rd Ave S #1100
Nashville, TN 372012011
International Paper Company retired
8507 Level Creek Drive
Germantown, TN 38139

Immigrant Rights Group Named ‘Nashvillians of Year’

The Nashville Scene magazine has named the staff of the Tennessee Immigrant and Refugee Rights Coalition (TIRC) its Nashvillians of the Year for 2019. The organization was formed in 2003 to empower and protect immigrants and refugees throughout the state. The news comes as the group announces a capital campaign to build a stand-alone headquarters in Antioch. Attorney Anne Davis and her husband and former Mayor Karl Dean, will serve as honorary co-chairs. The new $2.5 million headquarters will provide green space, gathering places, more office space and a legal services suite — allowing TIRRC to expand its legal team, Nashville Public Radio reports.

read more »

Memphis Veterans Clinic Set for Next Week

Memphis Area Legal Services will hold a Veterans Clinic on Dec. 10 from noon to 2 p.m. at the Memphis Vet Center, 1407 Union Ave. Ste 410, Memphis 38104. This clinic is specifically for veterans with questions about their rights and benefits, including basic eligibility for benefits, discharge status upgrades/appeals, disability compensation, pensions, dependency and indemnity compensation, representation before the Veterans Affairs Department and appealing a denial of benefits.

read more »