Governmental Affairs Committee

The TBA Governmental Affairs Committee is involved in one of the core missions of the association – advocacy for the profession and for our system of justice.

Smith Harris Carr
511 Union St Ste 710
Nashville, TN 37219
Immediate Past Chair
Gullett Sanford Robinson &...
150 Third Ave So., Ste 1700
Nashville, TN 37201

Group Files to Join Abortion Amendment Vote Suit

The “Yes on 1 Campaign,” a group that supported the 2014 abortion ballot measure, today filed a notice to join a Williamson County case in which voters challenged the method by which votes were tabulated. The group, which says it spent millions of dollars to get the measure before voters, is seeking to appeal Circuit Court Judge Michael Binkley’s recent ruling that upheld the state’s method of counting votes, but stopped short of determining that the count itself was right, The Tennessean reports. A federal judge later ruled that the state’s method of counting votes was not correct. Attorney General Hebert Slatery has said the state will appeal that ruling.

read more »

Murfreesboro Attorney, Former Lawmaker Kent Coleman Dies

Former lawmaker and Murfreesboro attorney W. Kent Coleman died today (April 28). He was 61, the Daily News Journal reports. A graduate of Nashville School of Law, Coleman practiced mostly family law in Rutherford County for more than 30 years. He served the 49th district in the General Assembly from 2002 to 2010. He also served on the Tennessee Judicial Council from 2007-2010. A visitation is planned for tomorrow, 4-8 p.m., at First Presbyterian Church, 210 North Spring St. in Murfreesboro. A memorial service will be held Saturday at the church at 3 p.m. 

read more »