Young Lawyers Division

The TBA Young Lawyers Division (YLD) is comprised of lawyers in their first five years of practice or under 36 years of age. It is dedicated to serving the professional needs of young lawyers and serving the public as the “service arm of the bar.”

YLD President
Legal Aid Society
9 S Jefferson Ave., Ste 102
Cookeville, TN 38501
YLD President Elect
Hunter Smith & Davis LLP
1212 N. Eastman Rd.
Kingsport , TN 37664
YLD Immediate Past President
Gearhiser Peters Elliott &...
320 McCallie Avenue
Chattanooga, TN 37402

Express Yourself: Take 5 Minutes to Complete Diversity Survey

The YLD is conducting its bi-annual diversity survey this November to better understand the composition of the division membership and provide guidance on how to strengthen diversity in the group. We value your time and promise that the survey will take less than five minutes to complete. Participation is voluntary and responses are anonymous. The 2014 survey will be available until Nov. 21 at midnight. If you have technical questions about the survey please contact TBA staff member Stacey Shrader Joslin, (615) 383-7421. If you have questions about the purpose or use of the survey, please contact Diversity Committee Chair Ahsaki Baptist, (901) 537-1123.

read more »

Upcoming Wills for Heroes Clinics (as of 10/29/14)

The YLD will again this year provide free wills and other end of life documents for first responders in Tennessee. The following clinics have been scheduled for the fall. Please contact the event organizer for more details or to volunteer. To get involved in the Wills for Heroes Committee or to request a clinic in your area, contact committee chair Joann Coston-Holloway. Learn more about the Wills for Heroes program.

Cookeville, Nov. 1
9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Contact: Jason Hicks,, (931) 526-3311
Location: First United Methodist Church Christian Life Center, 165 East Broad St., Cookeville, TN 38501

Gallatin, Nov. 8
Contact: Cherrelle Hooper,, (615) 451-1880 ext. 4
Location: Gallatin Civic Center, 210 Albert Gallatin Ave., Gallatin, TN 37066

read more »
YLD Ethics 2014: Memphis
YLD Ethics 2014: Knoxville