House of Delegates

The House of Delegates considers, debates, and makes policy recommendations on matters of interest and concern to the legal profession. It acts on matters brought to it by the Board of Governors and can consider matters on its own initiative.

Speaker of the House of Delegates/Twenty-ninth District Delegate - Term Expiring 2019
Ashley Ashley & Arnold
PO Box H
Dyersburg, TN 38025
Deputy Speaker of the House of Delegates/Twentieth District Delegate - Term Expiring 2019 (Position 1)
Patterson Intellectual Property...
1600 Division St., Suite 500
Nashville, TN 37203

TBA Members Speak at Indigent Task Force Meeting in Cookeville

Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville today hosted the sixth meeting of the Supreme Court’s Indigent Representation Task Force’s statewide listening tour. TBA members Bridget Wilhite and Lisa Cothron attended the meeting and shared their personal stories of practicing in rural communities and appointments of juvenile and criminal indigent clients. It was noted that in McMinn County, less than two dozen attorneys are available for appointments and there is often a caseload burden in addition to costs not being covered by the current compensation rate and caps. About 30 people from the judicial system attended today’s meeting along with task force members: Nashville School of Law Dean William Koch, DarKenya Waller, Susan Matson, Dwight Tarwater, Chief Justice Sharon Lee and Lela Hollabough. The task force wraps up its statewide tour in Nashville on July 29 at the Nashville School of Law.

read more »

Holt Wins HOD Seat, Vacancies Announced

Springfield lawyer John Holt with the Law Offices of Holt & Kroeger has been declared the winner of a contested race for TBA House of Delegates (HOD) District 19. Vacancies in five other districts will be filled by appointment: District 7 (Anderson County), District 9 (Loudon, Meigs, Morgan, Roane counties), District 11 (Hamilton County), District 18 (Sumner County) and District 23 (Cheatham, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Stewart counties). To be considered for one of the seats, submit a statement of interest and resume to TBA Executive Assistant Karen Belcher by June 1. In addition, an open position on the TBA Board of Governors for the West Grand Division Governor (Position 1) will be filled during the group's June 20 meeting. To be considered for the position submit a statement of interest and a resume to TBA Executive Director Allan F. Ramsaur by June 1.

read more »