YLD Committees

2015-2016 Committee Leadership

Public Service Committees


CHILDREN'S ISSUES COMMITTEE


The Children’s Issues Committee focuses on the partnership between the YLD and the Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) program, selects a CASA volunteer to honor each year, and facilitates public service programs that benefit children and youth in Tennessee.

Katrina Atchley Arbogast, Chair
Great West Casualty Company
10100 Global Way #100
Knoxville, TN 37922
(865) 392-3716
k.arbogast@gwccnet.com

H. Garth Click, Vice Chair
Click Law
509 West Court Square
Springfield, TN 37172
(615) 384-8444
garth@clicklawoffice.com

Committee includes: Ashley Holliday, Executive Committee Liaison


DISASTER RELIEF COMMITTEE


The Disaster Relief Committee trains lawyers on how to provide legal assistance to those affected by natural disasters and takes on pro bono cases of its own. It also maintains the YLD’s Disaster Legal Assistance Manual and updates it as necessary.

Caitlyn Luedtke Elam, Chair
Lewis Thomason
One Centre Square, Fifth Floor
620 Market Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 546-4646
celam@lewisthomason.com

Committee includes: David McDowell, Executive Committee Liaison


MOCK TRIAL COMMITTEE


The Mock Trial Committee oversees the high school mock trial program, in which teams of students play the roles of attorneys and witnesses in a hypothetical trial. The committee hosts the state competition and recruits volunteers to serve as coaches, jurors, scorers and bailiffs.

Kristen Corn, Chair
City of Franklin
109 3rd Avenue South
Franklin, TN 37064
(615) 550-6603
kristen.corn@franklintn.gov

Rob Sands, Vice Chair
Dix & Associates PLLC
805 S. Church Street, Suite 18
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
(615) 494-4941
rob@dixandassociates.net

Committee includes: Christian Barker; Colby Block; Robert Bratcher; Josh Dougan; Candi Henry; R. Holland Matthews; Troy Weston, Executive Committee Liaison


MOCK TRIAL LONG RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE


The Mock Trial Committee Long Range Planning Committee oversees the long-term operations of the mock trial competition, including procedural and rules changes and redistricting.

Joshua Dougan, Chair
The Dougan Law Firm PLLC
200 E. Main Street, Suite 112
Jackson, TN 38301
(731) 437-0469
josh@thedouganfirm.com

Committee includes:
Kristen Corn, Mock Trial Committee Chair
Rob Sands, Mock Trial Committee Vice Chair
Troy Weston, Executive Committee Liaison


PUBLIC SERVICE COMMITTEE


The Public Service Committee organizes lawyers from across the state to mount a major volunteer effort for the year. The committee also coordinates YLD involvement in the annual Celebrate Pro Bono Month events and helps implement law-related programs for students and the public.

Christian Barker, Chair & Executive Committee Liaison
Barker Nashville PLLC
P.O. Box 128167
Nashville, TN 37212
(615) 496-5719
cbarker@barkernashville.com

Tessa Lawson, Vice Chair
Attorney at Law
145 S Jefferson Avenue, Suite A2
Cookeville, TN 38501
(931) 372-1972
lawsonlaw2014@gmail.com

Committee includes: All District Representatives & Affiliate Representatives


WILLS FOR HEROES COMMITTEE


The Wills for Heroes Committee produces legal service projects across the state that provide basic estate planning to first responders, including police, sheriff’s deputies and fire fighters.

Joann Coston-Holloway, Chair
Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz
165 Madison Avenue, Suite 2000
Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 577-8223
jholloway@bakerdonelson.com

Matt Brock, East Tennessee Captain
Matt Brock Law
2401 Broad Street
Chattanooga, TN 37408
(423) 939-9384
matt@mattbrocklaw.com

Jake Hubbell, Middle Tennessee Captain
Law Office of Jake Hubbell
712 Trotwood Ave.
Columbia, TN 38401
(931) 381-4700
jakehubbell@yahoo.com

Will Perry, West Tennessee Captain
Butler Snow LLP
6075 Poplar Avenue, Suite 500
Memphis, TN 38119
(901) 680-7341
will.perry@butlersnow.com

Committee includes: All District Representatives; Rachel Ralston Mancl, Executive Committee Liaison

Member Service Committees


CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE


The TBA YLD annually produces a number of educational seminars designed for young lawyers. The Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Committee is responsible for identifying course topics, arranging speakers, preparing materials and moderating programs.

Nina Kumar, Chair & Middle TN Captain
Burr & Forman LLP
700 Two American Center
3102 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 724-3200
nina.kumar@nelsonmullins.com

Louise Chandler Biedenharn, Vice Chair & West TN CLE Captain
1408 Agnes Place
Memphis, TN 38104
(901) 359-5811
slouisechandler@gmail.com

Alyssa Minge, East Tennessee CLE Captain
Leitner Williams Dooley Napolitan PLLC
180 Market Place Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37922
(865) 342-4916
alyssa.minge@leitnerfirm.com

Committee includes: Nicole Grida, Executive Committee Liaison


DIVERSITY COMMITTEE


The Diversity Committee is responsible for proposing and executing programs designed to increase racial, ethnic, gender, sexual orientation, religious affiliation, geographic and practice area diversity within the leadership and membership of the TBA YLD. It also runs the Diversity Leadership Institute, a six-month leadership program for Tennessee law students.

Amber Floyd, Chair
Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP
1715 Aaron Brenner Drive, Ste. 800
Memphis, TN 38120
(901) 537-1054
afloyd@wyattfirm.com

John Rice, Vice Chair
Elmore, Stone & Caffey PLLC
5616 Kingston Pike, Suite 301
Knoxville, TN 37919
(865) 766-0056
jrice@esc-law.com

Committee includes: All Invited Guests; Ahsaki Baptist, Executive Committee Liaison


LAW SCHOOL OUTREACH COMMITTEE


The Law School Outreach Committee seeks to foster and develop relationships between the TBA YLD and law school students who are interested in practicing in the state of Tennessee.

Nathan E. Shelby, Chair
Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell PLC
PO Box 1147
Jackson, TN 38302
(731) 425-7949
nshelby@raineykizer.com

Brandon Stout, Vice Chair
Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell PLC
105 S. Highland Avenue
Jackson, TN 38301
(731) 423-2414
bstout@raineykizer.com

Committee includes: Ian Hennessey, Executive Committee Liaison


LONG RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE


The Long Range Planning Committee is responsible for developing and amending the division’s long range plan, which sets out the goals and objectives for the YLD for the next five years. The committee is chaired by the current YLD vice president.

Ahsaki Baptist, Chair
Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs LLP
1715 Aaron Brenner Drive, Suite 800
Memphis, TN 38120
(901) 537-1123
abaptist@wyattfirm.com

Committee includes:
President Rachel Moses
President-Elect Rachel Ralston Mancl
Reporter Steven King
Middle Tennessee Members: Aimee Luna and Jake Hubbell (terms expire June 30, 2016)
East Tennessee Members: Ian Hennessey and Troy Weston (terms expire June 30, 2017)
West Tennessee Members: Terica Anderson Smith and Joann Coston-Holloway (terms expire June 30, 2018)


MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE


The Membership Committee is charged with encouraging young lawyers in the state to join the TBA and get involved with its Young Lawyers Division. Activities include staffing a TBA information table at the swearing in ceremonies for new admittees and membership social events in key cities.

Marisa Combs, Chair
Lewis Thomason
424 Church Street, Suite 2500
PO Box 198615
Nashville, TN 37219
(615) 259-1366
mcombs@lewisthomason.com

John Billings, Vice Chair
Appalachian Underwriters, Inc.
7621 Nubbin Ridge Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919
(865) 481-7989
billings2120@gmail.com

Committee includes: Ian Hennessey, Executive Committee Liaison


PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE


Historically, the Publications Committee produced educational publications, including Basic Legal Resources, a guide to the law for social service agencies and an elder law handbook. The committee now focuses on internal communications products designed to keep YLD members informed of on-going projects and up-coming news through its monthly electronic newsletter E-DICT and social media.

Justin B. Faith, Chair & E-DICT Editor
Gearhiser, Peters, Elliott & Cannon PLLC
320 McCallie Avenue
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 756-5171
jfaith@gearhiserpeters.com

Nick Black, Vice Chair
Ralls Wooten & Black
2018 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy
Maryville, TN 37804
(865) 238-0665
nick@nablacklaw.com

Committee includes: Christian Barker, Executive Committee Liaison