Access to Justice Award Winners Announced

The Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services will present this year’s Access to Justice awards on Sept. 10 at its annual Equal Justice University. Former TBA President George T. “Buck” Lewis will receive the inaugural Janice M. Holder Award, named for retiring Tennessee Supreme Court Justice Janice Holder. The award honors an individual who has advanced the quality of justice statewide by ensuring that the legal system is open and available to all. Theresa Vay-Smith of Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee & the Cumberlands will receive the B. Riney Green Award, which recognizes the advocate who has coordinated statewide efforts to improve the quality of legal services for low income Tennesseans. Charlie McDaniel, with Legal Aid East Tennessee, will receive the New Advocate of the Year Award honoring advocates who have excelled within their first five years in public interest law.

          | TBA Law Blog