July News from Local YLD Affiliates

American Bar Association YLD - The ABA Annual Meeting will be held in Chicago Aug. 2 through 5, Details about the meeting can be found here. For general information about the ABA YLD contact Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.

Blount County Bar Association YLD - For more information about the Blount County YLD contact president George Maifair at george@grmbankruptcy.com or (865) 323-6719.
 
Chattanooga Bar Association YLD - The Chattanooga YLD held a social on July 11 at Big River Grill to further fundraising efforts for a project to create a children's play area in the lobby of the local juvenile court. The group has met with a contractor and is currently awaiting a final bid.  It is expected that this project will pair well with the TBA YLD's CASA coloring book and backpack initiatives. The Chattanooga YLD also is hosting an additional fundraising social on Aug. 1. In June, the group helped obtain silent auction items for the local Pro Bono Night to benefit Legal Aid of East Tennessee (LAET). The event was a success thanks to the hard work of many of the YLD members and Charlie McDaniel of LAET. For more information about the Chattanooga YLD contact President Eric Burnette at eburnette@bdplawfirm.com or (423) 266-2121.
 
Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD - The Jackson-Madison County YLD recently held elections and welcomed the following members to its new board: President Nathan Shelby, Vice President Josh Dougan, Treasurer Jessica Salonus, Secretary Ashley Holliday, Immediate Past President Terica Smith and board members Gayra Jones, Caleb Meriwether, Brandon Reedy, Courtney Reedy and Andrea Sipes. The group also partnered with the TBA YLD to host a membership event at a game of the Jackson Generals. For more information about the Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD contact President Nathan Shelby at nshelby@raineykizer.com or (731) 425-7949.
 
Knoxville Bar Association Barristers - The Barristers will hold its next meeting Aug. 8 beginning at 5 p.m. at the Bistro and will sponsor a summer party on Aug. 10 from 7 to 10 p.m. at the Sunsphere at World's Fair Park. Tickets are $15 each and include a BBQ dinner. Beer and wine will be available for purchase. RSVP here  In addition, volunteers are needed on Aug. 24 to serve breakfast at the Volunteer Ministry Center. Contact  Sheila Needles at sheila.needles@gmail.com or Will Kittrell at wkittrell@emadlaw.com to get involved in that project. Finally, the group is recruiting volunteers for Saturday Bar clinics in Knox and Blount counties. Knoxville dates include Aug. 11 and 25 and Sept. 8 and 22. Blount County dates include Aug. 18 and Sept. 15. To get involved in any of these activities contact Barristers President Josh Bond at jbond@hdclaw.com.
 
Maury County YLD - The Maury County YLD continues to make plans for a "Luncheon on the Courthouse Lawn," which will treat courthouse clerks, judges' staff and other legal support staff to a thank-you lunch for their hard work. More information will follow in the coming month. For details about the event or the association contact Maury County YLD President Douglas K. Chapman at (931) 388-3380 or douglaskchapman@hotmail.com.
 
Memphis Bar Association YLD - The MBA YLD will host its annual golf tournament Sept. 28 at Glen Eagle Golf Course in Millington. There will be a shotgun start at 1 p.m. Mark your calendar and look for more details to come. For general information about the MBA YLD contact President Abby Webb at awebb@shuttleworthwilliams.com or (901) 328-8223.
 
Nashville Bar Association YLD - For more information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Sara Reynolds at sreynolds@andersonreynolds.com or (615) 942-1700.
 
Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association - For more information about the NTYLA contact President Robert Black at (423) 230-0006 or rblack@rossassociateslaw.com.
 
Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association - The Upper Cumberland YLD will hold its 2012 Wills for Heroes clinic on Aug. 18 at the Putnam County 911 Center, 700 County Services Dr., Cookeville 38501. The event will run from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. To volunteer contact Rachel Moses at rmoses@las.org or 931-528-7436. Last month, the group held its third annual "Coffee Talk With the Judges" at Crawdaddy's restaurant in Cookeville. Turnout was impressive and included members of the UCYLA, law students interested in joining the group and many judges from throughout the Upper Cumberland Area. For more information about the group contact President Phil Hatch at pahatch@tndagc.org or (931) 528-5015.