June News from Local YLD Affiliates

American Bar Association YLD – The ABA YLD Annual Meeting will be held in Chicago Aug. 2 to 5. The event features three days of learning and networking and the installation of new officers. The group’s last meeting took place in Nashville in May. Read a report of that event. For general information about the ABA YLD contact Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.

Blount County Bar Association YLD – For more information about the Blount County YLD contact president George Maifair at george@grmbankruptcy.com or (865) 323-6719.

Chattanooga Bar Association YLD – The CBA YLD will be host a Summer Social and Membership Drive for law clerks and new associates on July 11 at 5:30 p.m. at Big River Grill on Broad Street. All members are invited to attend and are encouraged to bring summer clerks and new associates with them. For more information about the event, contact Ellie Hill at EHill@pbsjlaw.com. For more information about the Chattanooga YLD contact President Eric Burnette at eburnette@bdplawfirm.com or (423) 266-2121.

Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD – The Jackson-Madison YLD will hold elections in July, at which time Nathan Shelby with Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell will take over as president. On July 12, the TBA YLD will hold its Jackson Membership Event at the Jackson Generals Game. Please contact Shelby at nshelby@raineykizer.com if you would like to join colleagues in an upper deck suite for the game. For more information about the group contact President Terica Smith at terica@wtls.org or (731) 426-1337.

Knoxville Bar Association Barristers – The Barristers will hold its next meeting on July 11 at 5 p.m. at the Bistro, and its monthly happy hour on July 26. The group also is seeking volunteers for its Access to Justice Committee and to help serve breakfast at the Volunteer Ministry Center on July 26. Contact Troy Weston at (865) 544-2010 or tweston@ebtlaw.com for information about opportunities with the committee. Contact Sheila Needles at (865) 292-0000 or sheila.needles@gmail.com for details about the breakfast. In addition, the Barristers are helping recruit volunteers for the Knox County Saturday Bar clinic on July 14 and 28, and for the Blount County Saturday Bar on July 21. The clinics are held from 9 a.m. to noon. The Knoxville clinic takes place at Legal Aid of East Tennessee, 502 S. Gay Street, Suite 404. The Blount County clinics are held at New Hope Blount County Children’s Advocacy Center, 212 Cates Street in Maryville.

Finally, TBA YLD District Representative Ian Hennessey is planning a series of service projects for the area. The "Lawyers for All Seasons" Public Service Project launched this week with an event at the Wesley House Community Center. Lawyers served lunch at the center and shared with the children about what it means to be a lawyer. Other upcoming events include a visit to a local outreach center for the mentally handicapped and a senior center. For more information contact Hennessey at ihennessey@londonamburn.com or (865) 637-0203.

For general information about the Barristers contact President Josh Bond at jbond@hdclaw.com or (865) 546-9611.

Maury County YLD – The Maury County YLD recently elected Douglas K. Chapman with L. Samuel Patterson & Assoc. as the group’s new president. He takes over from Chaz Molder with Hardin, Parkes, Kelley, & Carter. Both work in Columbia. The group continues to plan a summer cookout on the courthouse lawn in honor of all courthouse and legal support staff. Look for additional details to come. For more information about the group contact Chapman at (931) 388-3380 or douglaskchapman@hotmail.com.

Memphis Bar Association YLD – The MBA YLD will host its annual golf tournament Sept. 28 at Glen Eagle Golf Course in Millington. There will be a shotgun start at 1 p.m. Mark your calendar and look for more details to come. For general information about the MBA YLD contact President Abby Webb at awebb@shuttleworthwilliams.com or (901) 328-8223.

Nashville Bar Association YLD -- The NBA YLD will hold the 15th Annual Carbolic Smoke Ball July 14 at the Ruby. The evening will feature a live band and open bar. Funds raised will benefit the Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee & the Cumberlands and Davidson County CASA. The planning committee is actively seeking sponsors and selling tickets. Contact Colleen Bracken at colleen.bracken@hospitallaborlaw.com or Will Hicky at whicky@tpmmlaw.com for more information. In addition, on July 18 from 9 to 11 a.m., the group’s Homeless Committee is holding a HELP Clinic at Room in the Inn. It is seeking eight to 10 volunteer lawyers to help serve. Contact Tera Rica Murdock at trmurdock@wallerlaw.com for details. For more information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Sara Reynolds at sreynolds@andersonreynolds.com or (615) 942-1700.

Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association – For more information about NTYLA contact President Robert Black at (423) 230-0006 or rblack@rossassociateslaw.com.

Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association – The next Upper Cumberland YLA meeting will take place July 19 at 6 p.m. at Foglight Foodhouse in Walling. Please RSVP to Rachel Moses at rmoses@las.org or (931) 528-7436 by July 17.  The group also recently announced that it will partner with the TBA YLD to host a Wills for Heroes clinic on Aug.18. Contact Moses for details about that event as well. Finally, the group announced that lawyers who have been practicing for less than five years and want to take appointed cases in the 13th Judicial District must attend a mandatory criminal law seminar on July 31 at the Nashville State Community College, Cookeville Campus. For details contact Jonathan Young at jlyoung@frontiernet.net or (931) 526-3366. For more information about any of the group's activities, contact President Phil Hatch at pahatch@tndagc.org or (931) 528-5015.