May News From Local YLD Affiliates

American Bar Association YLD – The 2012 ABA Spring Conference that took place in Nashville May 3–5 was a great success. The conference brought together over 325 young lawyers and legal experts from all practice areas and practice settings as well as from six countries. At the meeting, the TBA YLD was named a top four finalist for the “Next Steps Challenge,” which was created to recognize the best YLD affiliate diversity pipeline programs. The TBA YLD’s own Stacie Winkler and Matt Potempa were recognized as Stars of the Quarter for their work planning the meeting. For information about the ABA YLD or to get involved contact Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.

Blount County Bar Association YLD – The Blount County YLD will soon hold elections for the new bar year. Stay tuned for details. For information about the group contact president George Maifair at george@grmbankruptcy.com or (865) 323-6719.

Chattanooga Bar Association YLD – For more information about the Chattanooga YLD contact President Eric Burnette at eburnette@bdplawfirm.com or (423) 266-2121.

Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD – The group recently held a fundraiser for the local CASA agency, raising an estimated $3,000. The event – "Pour Your Heart Out for CASA" – featured a wine tasting at Charlie Bulldog's in downtown Jackson. Over 100 people turned out to support the Madison County CASA, which advocates for neglected and abused children in the court system. The Jackson Sun covered the event. For more information about the Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD contact President Terica Smith at terica@wtls.org or (731) 426-1337.

Knoxville Bar Association Barristers – The Barristers will hold its next meeting June 13 at 5 p.m. at the Bistro and its next monthly happy hour on June 28 from 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the Bearden Beer Market.

The group also is gearing up for its annual Professional Clothing Drive June 11–22. Items needed include suits, slacks, shirts and blouses for women, and suits, ties, oxford shirts and jeans for men. Drop-off locations are at the KBA office; the BB&T Building; Bank of America Building; the Kerbela Shrine Temple; the law office of Leitner, Williams, Dooley & Napolitan office in West Knoxville; and Mostoller, Stulberg, Whitfield & Allen in Oak Ridge. For more information contact Kristina Chuck-Smith at (865) 329-3334 or kristina@ccsgal-law.com, Daniel Ellis at (865) 482-4466 or dellis@msw-law.com or Alyssa Minge (865) 523-0404 or alyssa.minge@leitnerfirm.com.

Volunteers also are needed to serve breakfast at the Volunteer Ministry Center on June 28. Contact Sheila Needles at (865) 292-0000 or sheila.needles@gmail.com or Will Kittrell at (865) 546-0500 or wkittrell@emadlaw.com to get involved.

Finally, the Barristers are recruiting volunteers for several Knox County Saturday Bar clinics to be held throughout the summer. Dates include June 9, June 23, July 14, July 28, Aug. 11 and Aug. 25. The clinics are held from 9 a.m. to noon at the office of Legal Aid of East Tennessee, 502 S. Gay Street, Suite 404. Clinics in Blount County will held at New Hope Blount County Children’s Advocacy Center, 212 Cates St. in Maryville on June 23, July 21 and Aug. 18.

Contact President Josh Bond at jbond@hdclaw.com or (865) 546-9611 for more information about the Barristers.

Maury County YLD – Maury County YLD kicked off the summer with a business meeting and social gathering on May 31. The group also is making plans for a spring “Luncheon on the Courthouse Lawn,” that will treat courthouse clerks, judges’ staff and other legal support staff to a thank-you lunch for their hard work. To celebrate Law Day, the group joined with the Maury County Bar to host an event featuring Tennessee Supreme Court Justice Gary R. Wade as the keynote speaker. Also at the event, YLD President Chaz Molder presented the bar’s Liberty Bell Award to Virgil Moore, senior chairman of First Farmers & Merchants Bank. The award recognizes a citizen who inspires a deeper sense of individual civic responsibility. Finally, students from Columbia Academy were in attendance and presented with the 2012 Mock Trial Regional Competition Award for their local competition success. For general information about the Maury County YLD, contact Molder at (931) 388-4022 or cmolder@hardinandparkes.com.

Memphis Bar Association YLD – The MBA YLD will host a bowling tournament on June 14 from 6 to 8 p.m. at Billy Hardwick's on Quince Rd. in East Memphis. The cost is $10 per person, which includes shoe rental and bowling for two hours. Drinks will be provided. As a result of a generous sponsorship from Counsel on Call, the first 20 people to register for the event will be able to bowl for free. The group also recently announced that its annual golf tournament will take place Sept. 28 at Glen Eagle Golf Course in Millington. A shotgun start will kick off the tournament at 1 p.m. For general information about the MBA YLD contact President Abby Webb at awebb@shuttleworthwilliams.com or (901) 328-8223.

Nashville Bar Association YLD -- The Nashville YLD is participating in two upcoming events. First up is the Arts Immersion, an event celebrating the convergence of Nashville’s creative and business communities. The event, set for June 13 from 6 to 9 p.m. at One Cannery Row, will showcase some of the area’s best local talent. The second event is the Carbolic Smoke Ball, an annual social event to benefit two local non-profits: The Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and CASA Nashville. That event is scheduled for July 14 at the Ruby, 2411 Blakemore Ave., from 7 to 11 p.m. For more information about tickets or sponsorship opportunities contact Colleen Bracken at colleen.bracken@hospitallaborlaw.com or Will Hicky at whicky@tpmmlaw.com. For general information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Sara Reynolds at sreynolds@andersonreynolds.com or (615) 942-1700.

Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association – For more information about NTYLA contact President Robert Black at (423) 230-0006 or rblack@rossassociateslaw.com.

Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association – On May 8, the UCYLA hosted a local swearing-in ceremony for two new attorneys admitted to practice law in Tennessee. The new lawyers were sworn-in by the judges of the 13th Judicial District. It also marked Law Day with a dinner on May 15 with Dr. Michael Birdwell, a history professor at Tennessee Tech University. Birdwell spoke about race relations in Cookeville. Upcoming events include:

  • The 37th Annual Anne Cameron Golf Classic at Ironwood Golf Course in Cookeville on June 16. Proceeds from this four-person scramble tournament will go to the Cookeville Regional Medical Center Foundation Cancer Fund to help cancer patients in the Upper Cumberland. For more information, contact Lindsay Cameron Gross at lindsay@cameronyounglaw.com or (931) 526-3366. 
  • The Third Annual “Coffee Talk with the Judges” with all of the circuit, chancery and general sessions judges in the Upper Cumberland on June 19. This event will begin at 5:30 p.m. at Crawdaddy’s West Side Grill in Cookeville. Please RSVP to Rachel Moses at rmoses@las.org or (931) 528-7436.

For more information about any of the group's activities, contact President Phil Hatch at pahatch@tndagc.org or (931) 528-5015.