YLD Affiliate News for December 2012

American Bar Association YLD -- The ABA YLD is accepting applications for its subgrant program, which provides funding for activities that benefit local communities, leaders or members. Applications should be submitted by March 1, 2013. The ABA YLD's next meeting -- the midyear meeting -- will take place Feb. 7-9 at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas. This year's meeting includes a New Partner Workshop, which will feature a nationally known law firm marketing expert and a day of interactive learning and networking to help new partners, aspiring partners and attorneys who have launched their own firms prepare for their new roles. For information about the ABA YLD or to get involved contact Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.
Blount County Bar Association YLD -- Blount County lawyers will hold their Wills for Heroes clinic on May 11. Contact Ashley Morris Bentley at ashley@legaltennessee.com for details or to volunteer. For general information about the Blount County YLD contact president George Maifair at george@grmbankruptcy.com or (865) 323-6719.

Chattanooga Bar Association YLD -- For more information about the Chattanooga YLD contact President Eric Burnette at eburnette@bdplawfirm.com or (423) 266-2121.

Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD -- The Jackson-Madison County YLD recently held its monthly meeting on Dec. 18. For its holiday service project, the group purchased gifts for an Angel Tree child in the community. For more information about the Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD contact President Nathan Shelby nshelby@raineykizer.com or (731) 425-7949.

Knoxville Bar Association Barristers -- The KBA Barristers will hold its next meting Jan. 9 at 5 p.m. at the Bistro. At the group's annual meeting this month, Katrina Atchley Arbogast assumed the office of president and the following leaders were elected: Vice President James "Jay" P. Moneyhun Jr. with Egerton, McAfee, Armistead & Davis; Secretary/Treasurer Baily Perry Bowers with the Office of Disability Adjudication & Review; board member Melissa C. Reinders with McDonald, Levy & Taylor; and board member Matt W. Sherrod with Howard & Howard.

The Barristers Diversity Committee is fielding a team to participate in the YWCA Race Against Racism on Jan. 19. Runners should register online at www.ywcaknox.com by Jan. 7 to qualify for the early bird rate of $15. KBA members will gather at the picnic tables at Dr. Walter Hardy Memorial Park at noon on the day of the race to run together. Questions about the event should be directed to committee chair Amy Benner at (865) 437-5080 or abennerlaw@gmail.com.

The Barristers also announced it will hold its district high school mock trial competition on Feb. 16 and Feb. 23. Volunteers are needed to help with set-up and to serve as judges during the competition. Those interested in serving should contact Kati Goodner at ksg@painetar.com.

For general information about the Barristers contact President Katrina Atchley Arbogast at katchley@lewisking.com or (865) 541-5258.
 
Maury County YLD -- For information about the Maury County YLD contact President Douglas K. Chapman at (931) 388-3380 or douglaskchapman@hotmail.com.

Memphis Bar Association YLD -- The MBA YLD reports it is busy preparing for the 2013 Memphis and Shelby County High School Mock Trial Competition, which will be held Feb. 11-13 and 18-20 at the Shelby County Courthouse. Attorneys and judges are needed to serve as presiding judges for trial rounds. Those interested in assisting with the competition should contact Nicole Grida at nicole.grida@leitnerfirm.com or Jonathan Nelson at jenelson@bassberry.com. For general information about the MBA YLD contact President Annie Christoff at achristoff@bassberry.com or (901) 543-5939.

Nashville Bar Association YLD -- For more information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Rob Bigelow at (615) 244-6538 or rbigelow@dickinsonwright.com.
 
Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association -- For more information about NTYLA contact President Robert Black at (423) 230-0006 or rblack@rossassociateslaw.com.

Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association -- The UCYLA will hold its local high school mock trial competition on Feb. 16. Those interested in volunteering for the competition should contact Rachel Moses at rmoses@las.org or (931) 528-7436. For more information about the group contact President Phil Hatch at pahatch@tndagc.org or (931) 528-5015.