YLD Affiliate News for January 2013

American Bar Association YLD -- Those interested in applying for a 2013-2014 ABA YLD leadership appointment should submit their application by Feb. 15. In addition, affiliates have until March 1 to submit applications for the ABA YLD subgrant program, which provides funding for activities that benefit the local organization's communities, leaders or members.

The ABA YLD's next meeting will take place Feb. 7-9 at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas. This year's meeting agenda includes a New Partner Workshop, which will feature a nationally known law firm marketing expert and a day of interactive learning and networking to help new partners, aspiring partners and attorneys who have launched their own firms prepare for their new roles. For information about the ABA YLD or to get involved contact Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.

Blount County Bar Association YLD -- Blount County lawyers will hold a Wills for Heroes clinic on May 17. Contact Ashley Morris Bentley at ashley@legaltennessee.com for details or to volunteer. For general information about the Blount County YLD contact president George Maifair at gmaifair@rbrownlawyers.com, or (865) 323-6719.

Chattanooga Bar Association YLD -- The Chattanooga YLD has elected Michael M. Thomas with Duncan, Hatcher, Hixson & Fleenor PC as its new president for 2013. Thomas takes over from Eric Burnette with Burnette Dobson & Pinchak. The group's primary public service project -- creating a children's area at the juvenile court building -- also recently was completed. For more information about the group contact Thomas at mthomas@duncanhatcher.com or (266) 220-7137.

Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD -- For more information about the Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD contact President Nathan Shelby nshelby@raineykizer.com or (731) 425-7949.

Knoxville Bar Association Barristers -- The Barristers have several events on tap for the month of February. The Mock Interview Program at the University of Tennessee College of Law will take place Feb. 4-8. Interviews will run from 11 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. each day in 30-minute increments. Volunteers are needed to play the role of the employer. To get involved, contact Meghan Morgan at mmorgan2@bakerdonelson.com. On Feb. 16 and 23, the group will hold the district high school mock trial competition. Volunteers are needed to help with set up and to serve as judges during the competition. Those interested in serving should contact Kati Goodner at (865) 525-0880 or ksg@painetar.com. As a reminder, the group will not hold its normal monthly meeting in February, but will meet for its monthly happy hour Feb. 28 at the Downtown Grill & Brewery beginning at 5 p.m.

The Barristers also recently wrapped up two key programs. It presented Christmas gifts to 25 children through the Angel Tree Program and announced the winners of the Canned Food Drive: Legal Aid of East Tennessee won in the category of total pounds per attorney; Lewis, King, Krieg & Waldrop won in the total pounds donated category; and Hagood, Tarpy & Cox won in the amount of peanut butter donated. For more information about the Barristers contact President Katrina Atchley Arbogast at katchley@lewisking.com or (865) 541-5258.
                 
Maury County YLD -- For information about the Maury County YLD contact President Douglas K. Chapman at douglaskchapman@hotmail.com or (931) 388-3380.

Memphis Bar Association YLD -- Omar Malik of the District Attorney General's Office and Jennifer Sutch of The Fowler Law Firm have accepted appointments as ex officio directors on the Memphis YLD Board of Directors. They each will serve a one-year term. The group also is busy preparing for the 2013 Memphis and Shelby County High School Mock Trial Competition, which will be held Feb. 11-13 and 18-20 at the Shelby County Courthouse beginning at 5:30 p.m. each night. Attorneys and judges are needed to serve as judges. Those interested in assisting with the competition should contact Nicole Grida at nicole.grida@leitnerfirm.com or Jonathan Nelson at jenelson@bassberry.com. For more information about the MBA YLD contact President Annie Christoff at achristoff@bassberry.com or (901) 543-5939.

Nashville Bar Association YLD -- For more information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Rob Bigelow at rbigelow@dickinsonwright.com or (615) 244-6538.
 
Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association -- For more information about NTYLA contact President Robert Black at rblack@rossassociateslaw.com or (423) 230-0006.

Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association -- The UCYLA will hold its local high school mock trial competition on Feb. 16. Those interested in volunteering for the competition should contact Rachel Moses at rmoses@las.org or (931) 528-7436. For more information about the group, contact President Phil Hatch at pahatch@tndagc.org or (931) 528-5015.