YLD Affiliate News for June 2013

American Bar Association YLD – The ABA Annual meeting will take place Aug. 8-13 in San Francisco. Activities and meetings for YLD members are planned throughout the event. For more information about the ABA YLD visit the group online or contact Nashville lawyer Matt Potempa at matt@potempafirm.com or (615) 255-5007.

Blount County Bar Association YLD – For general information about the Blount County YLD contact president George Maifair at george@grmbankruptcy.com or (865) 323-6719.

Chattanooga Bar Association YLD – For more information about the Chattanooga YLD contact President Michael Thomas at mthomas@duncanhatcher.com or (266) 220-7137.

Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD – For more information about the Jackson Madison County Bar Association YLD contact President Nathan Shelby nshelby@raineykizer.com or (731) 425-7949.

Knoxville Bar Association Barristers – The Barristers will hold its next meeting July 10 at 5 p.m. at the Bistro by the Bijou, 807 S. Gay St. It will throw its annual summer party July 19 at the Island Home Airport. Tickets are $15 each. The group also is seeking volunteers for the 2nd Annual East Tennessee Accessibility Symposium planned for Aug. 23. The event will present briefings on the various sections of the Americans with Disabilities Act and field questions from professionals in the design industry and those who benefit from accessibility. Lawyers who are willing to give one to two hours of their time should contact Amy Benner at abennerlaw@gmail.com. Finally, the Barristers and the KBA are joining forces to co-host the annual four-person golf scramble. This year’s event will be held Sept. 20 at Avalon Golf & Country Club. The entry fee of $100 per player includes green fees, cart, range balls, box lunch, a commemorative gift, two drink tickets, prizes and a cookout following the tournament. All entries and payments must be received by Sept. 5. Tee times are available from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. For more information about the Barristers contact President Katrina Atchley Arbogast at katchley@lewisking.com or (865) 541-5258.

Maury County Bar Association YLD – For information about the Maury County YLD contact President Jacob “Jake” Hubbell at jakehubbell@yahoo.com or (931) 381-4700.

Memphis Bar Association YLD – The Memphis YLD will host its annual Golf Tournament on Oct. 4. The event will begin with a 1 p.m. shotgun start at Glen Eagle Golf Course. More details to follow in the months ahead. For general information about the MBA YLD contact President Annie Christoff at achristoff@bassberry.com or (901) 543-5939.

Montgomery County Bar Association YLD – The Montgomery County YLD was unanimously approved as an official affiliate of the TBA YLD at the state board’s meeting earlier this month. For information about the group contact President Jacob Mathis at jacob.mathis@yahoo.com or (931) 645-9900.

Nashville Bar Association YLD – For more information about the Nashville YLD, contact President Robb Bigelow at rbigelow@dickinsonwright.com or (615) 244-6538.
 
Northeast Tennessee Young Lawyers Association – For more information about NTYLA contact President Robert Black at rblack@rossassociateslaw.com or (423) 230-0006.

Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association – For more information about the group, contact President Tessa Lawson at lawsontessa@yahoo.com or (931) 372-1972.

Williamson County Bar Association YLD – The Williamson County YLD was unanimously approved as an official affiliate of the TBA YLD at the state board’s meeting earlier this month. For information about the group contact President Kristen Corn at kristen.corn@franklintn.gov or (615) 550-6603.