Young Lawyers Recognized for Service

At a dinner and awards ceremony on the last night of the TBA Convention, outgoing YLD President David McDowell recognized several young lawyers with awards for their service to the organization, the profession and the community. Murfreesboro lawyer Aimee Luna, an attorney with the Legal Aid Society, received the President’s Award for her exceptional efforts educating Tennessee lawyers and librarians about free legal resources through this year’s YLD public service project. Luna personally visited almost 10 libraries and made additional presentations to several groups of lawyers. She also was honored for seven years of service as District 7 Representative and for her strong support of the Wills for Heroes program.

In addition to receiving the President's Award, Luna was selected as the first place finisher in the YLD's "Paying for Press" Challenge. An initiative of YLD President David McDowell, the challenge encouraged young lawyers to get press coverage of the events, activities and projects they planned. Using his own funds, McDowell pledged to support the charity of the winners' chosing. Luna was able to designate a donation of $500 to her favorite charity.

Outgoing YLD President David McDowell presents the President's Award to Aimee Luna of Murfreesboro.

McDowell presents a check to Luna for her favorite charity.

In addition, Brad Carter of Franklin and Ashley Holliday of Jackson received special recognition awards. Carter, an attorney with Schell & Davies, was recognized for six years of service to the YLD, most notably as chair of the Wills for Heroes Committee, which provided free legal assistance to more than 1,200 first responders under his leadership. Holliday, an attorney with West Tennessee Legal Services, was recognized for her support for the Diversity Leadership Institute.

Other lawyers were named “Stars of the Quarter.” They included Mock Trial Committee Chair Josh Dougan and Vice Chair Will Holloway for a successful mock trial season; Candi Henry and Troy Weston for their contributions to the mock trial program; Rachel Ralson Mancl for her work in support of the Library Education Program and the Legal Handbook for Tennessee Seniors; and Tessa Lawson and Jason Hicks for their work in support of the Library Education Program.