YLD Committees

YLD Committees

2017-2018 Committee Leadership

Public Service Committees


The Children’s Issues Committee focuses on the partnership between the YLD and the Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) program, selects a CASA volunteer to honor each year, and facilitates public service programs that benefit children and youth in Tennessee.

Cherrelle Hooper, Chair
Legal Aid Society
650 North Water Avenue
Gallatin, TN 37066
(615) 451-1880
Angela Williams, Vice Chair
The Bureau of TennCare
310 Great Circle Road
Nashville, TN 37243
Committee Includes: Rachel Mancl, Executive Committee Liaison


The Disaster Relief Committee trains lawyers on how to provide legal assistance to those affected by natural disasters and takes on pro bono cases of its own. It also maintains the YLD’s Disaster Legal Assistance Manual and updates it as necessary.

Sonia Boss, Chair
TN Coalition to End Domestic & Sexual Violence
Committee includes: Ashley Holliday, Executive Committee Liaison


The Mock Trial Committee oversees the high school mock trial program, in which teams of students play the roles of attorneys and witnesses in a hypothetical trial. The committee hosts the state competition and recruits volunteers to serve as coaches, jurors, scorers and bailiffs.

Rob Sands, Chair 
Dix & Associates PLLC
805 S. Church Street, Suite 18
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
(615) 494-4941
Kati Sanford Goodner, Vice Chair 
Lewis, Thomason, King, Krieg & Waldrop, PC
P.O. Box 2425
Knoxville, TN 37901 


The Mock Trial Committee Long Range Planning Committee oversees the long-term operations of the mock trial competition, including procedural and rules changes and redistricting.

Joshua Dougan, Chair & Executive Committee Liaison
The Dougan Law Firm PLLC
200 E. Main Street, Suite 112
Jackson, TN 38301
(731) 437-0469

Committee includes:
Rob Sands, Mock Trial Committee Chair
Kati Goodner, Mock Trial Committee Vice Chair


The Public Service Committee organizes lawyers from across the state to mount a major volunteer effort for the year. The committee also coordinates YLD involvement in the annual Celebrate Pro Bono Month events and helps implement law-related programs for students and the public.

Amber Floyd, Chair
Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs LLP
1715 Aaron Brenner Dr Ste 800
Memphis, TN 38120
(901) 537-1054
Committee includes:
Allyson Lumpkin, East Tennessee Captain
I’Ashea Myles-Dihigo, Middle Tennessee Captain
Brittany Williams, West Tennessee Captain
All District Representatives & Affiliate Representatives
Brittany Thomas Faith, Executive Committee Liaison


The Wills for Heroes Committee produces legal service projects across the state that provide basic estate planning to first responders, including police, sheriff’s deputies and fire fighters.

Brandon Whiteley, Chair
Shelby County Government
1464 Peabody Ave
Memphis, TN 38104
Jason Davis, Vice Chair
Davis Law Firm; 17th Judicial District Assistant District Attorney
101 1st Avenue North
Lewisburg, TN 37091-3343
Committee includes: All District Representatives; Chasity Grice, Executive Committee Liaison

Member Service Committees


The TBA YLD annually produces a number of educational seminars designed for young lawyers. The Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Committee is responsible for identifying course topics, arranging speakers, preparing materials and moderating programs.

Aaron Kandel, Chair
Tennessee Department of Human Services
910 Park Valley Road
Memphis, TN 38119
Committee includes:
Matt Brock, East TN Captain
Janika White, West TN Captain
Sean Aiello, Middle TN Captain


The Diversity Committee is responsible for proposing and executing programs designed to increase racial, ethnic, gender, sexual orientation, religious affiliation, geographic and practice area diversity within the leadership and membership of the TBA YLD. It also runs the Diversity Leadership Institute, a six-month leadership program for Tennessee law students.

Alicia Teubert, Chair 
Elmore, Stone & Caffey, PLLC
5616 Kingston Pike, Suite 301
Knoxville, TN 37919
Ariel Anthony, Vice Chair
Husch Blackwell
735 Georgia Avenue Suite 300
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Committee includes: All Invited Guests; Ashley Holliday, Executive Committee Liaison


The Law School Outreach Committee seeks to foster and develop relationships between the TBA YLD and law school students who are interested in practicing in the state of Tennessee.

Cole Rogers, Chair 
Rogers Law
100 Bluegrass Commons Blvd Ste 330 
Hendersonville, TN 37075
James Cobb, Vice Chair 
Cobb & Waites, PLLC
1994 Gallatin Pike N., Suite 315
Madison, TN 37115
Committee includes: John Wilks, Executive Committee Liaisons


The Long Range Planning Committee is responsible for developing and amending the division’s long range plan, which sets out the goals and objectives for the YLD for the next five years. The committee is chaired by the current YLD vice president.

Troy Weston
Eldridge & Blakney PC
PO Box 398
Knoxville, TN 37901

Committee includes:
President Ahsaki Baptist 
President-Elect Christian Barker
Reporter Will Holloway
East Tennessee Members: Brittany Thomas Faith and Stanton Fears (terms expire June 30, 2020)
West Tennessee Members: Terica Anderson Smith and Amber Floyd (terms expire June 30, 2018)
Middle Tennessee Members: Cole Rogers and Rob Sands (terms expire June 30, 2019)


The Membership Committee is charged with encouraging young lawyers in the state to join the TBA and get involved with its Young Lawyers Division. Activities include staffing a TBA information table at the swearing in ceremonies for new admittees and membership social events in key cities.

Judd Taback, Chair 
Tennessee Division of Health Care Finance & Administration
310 Great Circle Road
Nashville, TN 37243
Gabe McGaha, Vice Chair
Fisher & Phillips
1715 Aaron Brenner Drive, Suite 312
Memphis, TN 38120
Committee includes: Troy Weston, Executive Committee Liaison


The Public Policy Committee is charged with monitoring policy issues of interest to young lawyers, educating members on these issues and encouraging grassroots activity. The committee also serves as a coordinating body for the young lawyer members of the TBA House of Delegates and ABA House of Delegates.

John Rice, Chair 
Elmore, Stone & Caffey, PLLC
5616 Kingston Pike, Suite 301
Knoxville, TN 37919
Will Gibbons, Vice Chair 
City of Memphis-Law Division
547 Diana Street
Memphis, TN 38104
(901) 222-1368
Committee Includes: Bryce McKenzie, Young Lawyer Delegate to the TBA House of Delegates, East; Nina Kumar, Young Lawyer Delegate to the TBA House of Delegates, Middle; Nicole Grida, Young Lawyer Delegate to the TBA House of Delegates, West; Troy Weston, TBA Young Lawyer Delegate to the ABA House of Delegates; Rachel Mancl, Executive Committee Liaison Jason Hicks, Executive Committee Liaison 


Historically, the Publications Committee produced educational publications, including Basic Legal Resources, a guide to the law for social service agencies and an elder law handbook. The committee now focuses on internal communications products designed to keep YLD members informed of on-going projects and up-coming news through its monthly electronic newsletter E-DICT and social media.

Justin B. Faith, Chair & E-DICT Editor
Gearhiser, Peters, Elliott & Cannon PLLC
320 McCallie Avenue
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 756-5171

Alandis Brassel, Vice Chair 
Arts and Business Council of Greater Nashville
1900 Belmont Blvd
Nashville, TN 37212
Committee includes: Christian Barker, Executive Committee Liaison


          | TBA Law Blog