Wills for Heroes

The YLD hosts Wills for Heroes clinics around the state to provide free wills, powers of attorney and advance directives for Tennessee's firefighters, law enforcement officers and other emergency responders. The Wills for Heroes program started shortly after the September 11th terrorist attacks as a way to give back to first responders in need of estate planning services. Since its inception in Tennessee, Wills for Heroes has served nearly 3,000 heroes and their families. See a list of upcoming clinics.

In addition, the program is in need of new or used laptops or printers. If you or your firm is interested in making a tax-deductible donation please contact Wills for Heroes Committee Chair Jake Hubbell at jakehubbell@yahoo.com.

Return to YLD Programs

The following Wills for Heroes events have been scheduled across the state:

2016-2017 WILLS FOR HEROES CLINICS:

Cookeville, Aug. 13
Contact: Tessa Lawson
Location: First United Methodist Church, 165 East Broad Street, 38501
Time: 9 a.m. - 12 noon
 
Fentress County, Aug. 27
Contact: Amanda Howard
Location: Alvin C. York Institute, 701 N. Main Street, 38556
Time: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.  
 
Clarksville, Sept. 17th 
Contact: Jamie Durrett
Location: Clarksville Police Department (in the briefing room), 135 Commerce St., 37040
Time: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
 
Memphis, Oct. 22
Contact: Chasity Grice
Location: Benjamin L. Hooks Public Library, 3030 Poplar Avenue, 38111
Time: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.  
 
Lebanon, Oct. 29
Contact: Sonia Boss
Location: Immanuel Baptist Church, 214 Castle Heights Avenue, 37087
Time: 9 a.m. - 12 p.m.
 
Nashville, Dec. 3
Contact: Cole Rogers
Location: Nashville North Precinct, 2231 26th Ave North, 37208
Time: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 

 

2015-2016 WILLS FOR HEROES CLINICS

Sparta, Aug. 15
Contact: Jason Hicks, jasonfhicks@gmail.com, (931) 526-3311
Location: Sparta Police Department, 323 E. Bockman Way, 38583
Time: 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Livingston, Aug. 15
Contact: Jason Hicks, jasonfhicks@gmail.com, (931) 526-3311
Location: Overton County Public Library, 107 E. Main St., 38570
Time: 1 to 5 p.m.

Clarksville, Sept. 19
Contact: Jamie Durrett, jdurrett@batsonnolan.com, (931) 647-1501
Location: Clarksville Police Department, 135 Commerce St., 37040
Time: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Nashville, Oct. 3
Contact: Cole Rogers, crogers@rogerslawtn.com, (615) 905-6232
Location: Metro Police North Nashville Precinct, 2231 26th Ave. N., 37208
Time: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Memphis, Oct. 10
Contact: Chasity Grice, cgrice@pgmlawyers.com, (901) 761-3140
Location: Benjamin L. Hooks Library, 3030 Poplar Ave., 38111
Time: 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Gallatin, Oct. 31
Contact: Cherrelle Hooper, chooper@las.org, (615) 451-1880
Location: Gallatin Civic Center, 210 Albert Gallatin Ave., 37066
Time: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Murfreesboro, Nov. 14
Contact: I’Ashea Myles Dihigo, idihigo@limestone-title.com, (615) 800-4747
Location: Murfreesboro Police Department, 302 S. Church St., 37130
Time: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Franklin, Nov. 21
Contact: Lauren Curry, lcurry@sherrardroe.com, (615) 742-4200
Location: Franklin Police Department, Community Room, 900 Columbia Ave., 37064
Time: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

2016 Clinics

Knoxville, Jan. 9
Contact: Kati Goodner, ksg@painetar.com, (865) 525-0880
Location: Leitner, Williams, Dooley & Napolitan, 900 S. Gay St., Suite 1800, 37902
Time: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Chattanooga, Jan. 16
Contact: Alex McVeagh, amcveagh@chamblisslaw.com, (423) 757-0237
Location: Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel, 605 Chestnut St., Suite 1700, 37450
Time: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Jackson, Jan. 30
Contact: Kortney Simmons, kortneysimmons@live.com, (731) 660-8810
Location: Jackson Chamber of Commerce, 197 Auditorium St., 38301
Time: 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Alamo, Feb. 6
Contact: Benjamin Conley, bjconley1@gmail.com, (731) 696-3735
Location: Crockett Memorial Library, 258 E. Church St., 38001
Time: 11 a.m to 1:30 p.m.

Sevierville, Feb. 27
Contact: Bryce McKenzie, bryce@bryandelius.com, (865) 428-8780
Location: Sevier County Special Operations Building, 735 Middle Creek Rd., 37862
Time: 9 a.m to 1 p.m.

Cleveland, March 5
Contact: Emily Petro, emilyepetro@gmail.com, (423) 472-2179
Location: Bradley-Cleveland Senior Activity Center, 230 Urbane Road NE, 37312
Time: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Morristown, April 23
Contact: W. Evan Anderson, evan@khinsleylaw.com, (423) 587-1131
Location: Morristown Hamblen Library, 417 W Main St., 37814
Time: 8 a.m. to 12 Noon

Johnson City, May 21
Contact: Rachel Ralston Mancl, rmancl@hsdlaw.com, (423) 283-6319, or Holly Mancl, hmancl@pennstuart.com, (423) 793-4808
Location: Washington County Johnson City Emergency Medical Service Inc. Training Room, 204 Wesley Street, 37601
Time: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
 
          | TBA Law Blog

For More Information

For more information about Wills for Heroes, contact one of the following committtee members:

Jake Hubbell, Chair
Law Office of Jake Hubbell
jakehubbell@yahoo.com
712 Trotwood Ave.
Columbia, TN 38401

 
Alyssa Minge, East Tennessee Captain
Leitner Williams Dooley Napolitan PLLC
alyssa.minge@leitnerfirm.com
900 So Gay St #1800 Riverview Twr
Knoxville, TN 37902
 
John Wilks, Wills for Heroes Middle Tennessee Captain
Martin Heller Potempa & Sheppard, PLLC
2122 21st Ave S
Nashville, TN 37212
 
Brandon Whiteley, Wills for Heroes West Tennessee Captain
Shelby County Government
1464 Peabody Ave
Memphis, TN 38104