YLD Organizational Structure

The Tennessee Bar Association Young Lawyers Division (TBA YLD) is the state organization of young lawyers. It is governed by a board and its work is carried out through standing and special committees. Young lawyers across the state are represented on the board through 14 district representatives and three regional governors. Learn more about the YLD's mission, membership requirements, leaders and committees below.

Download an organizational chart of YLD leaders

YLD Mission
The mission of the YLD is to provide leadership in serving the public and the profession and to promote excellence and fulfillment in the practice of law. It has been actively seeking to fulfill this mission since 1936. Because of this mission, the YLD has become known as the "service arm of the bar" for the range of public and legal service programs it conducts in communities and schools across the state. Among its activities for students is the high school mock trial competition and a legal art and essay contest. Service to the community includes public service projects each spring, free legal services for victims of natural disasters, free wills for first responders and support for CASA agencies and volunteers. The division also provides a range of services to its members including a job and resume bank, continuing legal education programs, and mentoring and internship opportunities.

YLD Membership
The YLD includes all members of the TBA who are under the age of 36 or who are in their first five years of practice (whichever occurs later), as well as law student members of the association. For those who meet the criteria, membership in the division is automatic upon membership in the TBA. No additional dues are required. The current YLD membership numbers nearly 2,500.

YLD Board
The YLD is governed by a board that includes the division president, president-elect, vice president, immediate past president, secretary, treasurer, three regional governors, 14 district representatives, three regional representatives to the TBA House of Delegates, and representatives from local, county and specialty bars with young lawyer affiliates.
A list of current leaders is available here

The YLD board meets five times a year: in the summer for its annual planning session, in the fall, in January in conjunction with the TBA Leadership Conference, in March for the state mock trial competition, and in June in conjunction with the TBA convention for its annual meeting and elections.

YLD District Representatives
The state is divided into 14 districts, each of which elects a representative to sit on the YLD Board. 
Download a map of the districts

The district lines are drawn as follows:
District 1: Carter, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington counties
District 2: Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Fentress, Grainger, Jefferson, Scott, Sevier and Union counties
District 3: Knox County
District 4: Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Polk, Rhea and Roane counties
District 5: Hamilton County
District 6: Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Jackson, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Van Buren, Warren and White counties
District 7: Cannon, Coffee, Franklin, Grundy, Marion, Rutherford and Sequatchie counties
District 8: Macon, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale and Wilson counties
District 9: Davidson County
District 10: Cheatham, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson and Stewart counties
District 11: Bedford, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, Wayne and Williamson counties
District 12: Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion and Weakley counties
District 13: Chester, Decatur, Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Lauderdale, McNairy, Madison and Tipton counties
District 14: Shelby County

YLD Committees
The YLD conducts its business through its 11 committees, which include the Children's Issues Committee, Continuing Legal Education Committee, Disaster Relief Committee, Diversity Committee, Long Range Planning Committee, Membership & Law School Outreach Committee, Mock Trial Committee, Mock Trial Long Range Planning Committee, Public Service Committee, Publications Committee and Wills for Heroes Committee. A list of current committee leaders is available here

Staff support for the YLD is provided primarily by Young Lawyers Division Director Stacey Shrader Joslin. For more information about the YLD, contact Stacey at (615) 383-7421 or sshrader@tnbar.org.

yld_org_chart_14-15.pdf58.66 KB
yld_district_map_14-15.pdf170.92 KB