Administrative Law Section

This section provides members with opportunities to exchange information with other practitioners regarding administrative law. The section produces annual CLE‚Äąprogramming and news to the members.

Tennessee Treasury Department
502 Deaderick St., 13th Floor, Andrew Jackson Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243
Tenn Dept of State Admin...
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave
Nashville, TN 37243

Letter From the Section Chair

As the chair of the Administrative Law Section of the Tennessee Bar Association, I want to take this opportunity to share some of the improvements our Section has already made as well some of the goals Vice-Chair Christy Allen and I have for the year. For those of you who don't know us, I am the Director and Chief Administrative Judge of the Administrative Procedures Division of the Office of the Secretary of State.
read more »

Judge Upholds Requirement for Memphis-Shelby County Consolidation

The 2010 federal court lawsuit over the failed attempt at consolidating the city of Memphis and Shelby County governments has failed as well with an order Wednesday from U.S. District Judge Thomas Anderson granting a motion for summary judgment by defendants in the case. The proposal for consolidation lost by a large margin in the county outside Memphis, although it was approved by a narrow margin within Memphis. The lawsuit filed in 2010 challenged on constitutional grounds the state law requiring that such a charter must be approved by dual majorities in separate referendums for consolidation to take place. The Memphis Daily News has more.

read more »