Disaster Declaration Approved for 10 Counties - Articles

All Content

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Mar 23, 2012

President Barack Obama has approved a federal disaster declaration for 10 counties in Tennessee, stemming from severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding in the state from Feb. 29 to March 2. Individuals in Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton, and Polk counties may apply for individual assistance by calling 800-621-FEMA. The TBA, its Young Lawyers Division and the Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services (TALS) will operate a toll-free disaster legal assistance hotline for those in affected areas. Details about how to access the hotline or volunteer to handle cases that come in over the hotline will be announced next week. Learn more from FEMA