All Content

Posted by: Brittany Sims on Dec 26, 2012

Court: TN Court of Criminal Appeals

Attorneys 1:

Matthew Jackson, Tiptonville, Tennessee, pro se.

Attorneys 2:

Robert E. Cooper, Jr., Attorney General and Reporter; Leslie E. Price, Senior Counsel; Lawrence Ray Whitley, District Attorney General; and Ronald Blanton, Assistant District Attorney General, for the appellee, State of Tennessee.

Judge(s): WILLIAMS

The petitioner, Matthew Jackson, was convicted of four counts of aggravated robbery pursuant to a plea agreement and was sentenced to an effective ten years of incarceration. The petitioner filed a prior application for the writ of error coram nobis, the denial of which was affirmed on appeal. The petitioner brings this subsequent petition for the writ of error coram nobis, asserting various grounds for relief. The trial court denied the writ, noting that the claim was time-barred and that the petitioner failed to allege facts which would negate the knowing and voluntary nature of his pleas. After a review of the record, we affirm.