TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Apr 26, 2013

Cookeville lawyer Rachel M. Moses has been elected vice president of the TBA Young Lawyers Division (YLD) and will serve as its president in 2015-2016. She will take office in June. Moses, an attorney with the Legal Aid Society, has served for many years as YLD District 6 Representative. She also is a member of the TBA Public Education Committee and chair of its YouTube Video Contest Subcommittee. She previously was president of the Upper Cumberland Young Lawyers Association, a group she was instrumental in forming. Moses was deemed elected after the filing deadline passed and she was unopposed for the post.

Officers elected this month without opposition include Secretary Troy S. Weston with Eldridge & Blakney in Knoxville and Middle Tennessee Governor Marisa L. Combs with Lewis, King, Krieg & Waldrop in Nashville. Those reelected include Treasurer Steven W. King with Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz in Memphis; East Tennessee Governor W. Paul Whitt with Lewis, King, Krieg & Waldrop in Knoxville; and West Tennessee Governor Ashley Holliday with West Tennessee Legal Services in Jackson.

District Representatives elected without opposition were:

District 1: Rachel Ralston Mancl, Hunter, Smith & Davis, Kingsport
District 3: Ian Hennessey, London & Amburn, Knoxville
District 5: Jason Demastus, Office of the District Attorney, Chattanooga
District 7: Aimee Luna, Legal Aid Society, Murfreesboro
District 9: Charles L. “Chip” Howorth, Smith Cashion & Orr, Nashville*
District 11: Shauna Billingsley, City of Franklin Law Department, Franklin
District 13: Brittani Kendrick, Pentecost & Glenn, Jackson

*A contested election previously was announced for the District 9 Representative position, however, Jonathan S. Carlton with the Harrington Law Office in Nashville withdrew from the race on April 27. Chip Howorth was deemed to be elected at that point.