TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Dec 9, 2013

Charles K. Grant took office as president of the Nashville Bar Association (NBA) during its annual meeting last week. A lawyer with Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, Grant will be the first African American to serve in the role. Other meeting highlights included the election of President-elect Edward D. Lanquist Jr., First Vice President C. Dewey Branstetter Jr., Second Vice President John C. McLemore; Treasurer Nicole James; and Secretary Stacey Billingsley Cason. New board members named are Hon. Joe P. Binkley Jr., Irwin Kuhn, Claudia Levy, Sara Reynolds, Nathan Ridley and Bernadette Welch. Receiving awards were Byron Trauger, who was honored with the John C. Tune Public Service Award; Stephen A. Cobb, who received the Joseph G. Cummings Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award; Bart Pickett, who received the Nashville Bar Journal's Contributor of the Year Award; Matt Pulle, who received Article of the Year Award; Karl Warden, who received the CLE Excellence Award; and the law firm of Ortale, Kelley, Herbert & Crawford, which was given the Pro Bono Leadership Award. Finallly, before stepping down, outgoing President Thomas J. Sherrard III presented NBA YLD President Robb Bigelow and Federal Court Committee Chairs Jessie Zeigler and Ken Bryant with the 2013 President’s Award.