TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Barry Kolar on Aug 7, 2014

Tennessee voters chose to retain all three Supreme Court justices in Thursday's election.

Despite a big money campaign against them, Chief Justice Gary Wade and Justices Connie Clark and Sharon Lee all survived to new eight-year terms on the state's highest court. Complete results compiled by the Secretary of State's office show all three held a margin of about 56 percent to 44 percent. All judges on the Court of Appeals and Court of Criminal Appeals also were retained by voters.

Tennessee Bar Association President Jonathan Steen said that he is “proud of the way the judges conducted a campaign on the highest ethical plane, upholding the principle of fair and impartial courts.”