TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Suzanne Craig Robertson on Aug 1, 2015

Journal Issue Date: Aug 2015

Journal Name: August 2015 - Vol. 51, No. 8

There will be three monuments in Tennessee honoring the Suffragists. All of them are by, or will be by, artist Alan LeQuire.

Tennessee Woman Suffrage Memorial, Knoxville.

Tennessee Woman Suffrage Memorial was unveiled at Knoxville’s Market Square Mall on Aug. 26, 2006. The life-size bronze statue features three Tennessee suffragists: Lizzie Crozier French of Knoxville, Anne Dallas Dudley of Nashville and Elizabeth Avery Meriwether of Memphis. See http://tnwomansmemorial.org/index.html.

Tennessee Woman Suffrage Memorial, Nashville.

The Tennessee Suffrage Monument will be dedicated Oct. 27, 2015, on Legislative Plaza in Nashville. It will be the first statue on the plaza honoring a woman. It features five of the movement’s leaders marching to equality — Anne Dallas Dudley, Carrie Chapman Catt and Frankie Pierce of Nashville, Sue Shelton White of Jackson and Abby Crawford Milton of Chattanooga. http://tnsuffragemonument.org/

Photos courtesy Alan LeQuire.

Fundraising efforts are underway by the Suffrage Coalition for the Burn Memorial, to be placed in Knoxville, honoring Rep. Harry Burn and his mother, Febb Ensinger Burn. For more information go to www.tba.org/sites/default/files/Burn_Memorial_Brochure_03-07-14.pdf