TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Journal News on Dec 1, 2015

Journal Issue Date: Dec 2015

Journal Name: December 2015 - Vol. 51, No. 12

Apply for TBA Positions by Feb. 15

During 2016, the following officers, governors and delegates of the Tennessee Bar Association (TBA) will be elected as set forth in the association’s bylaws:

TBA Officers and Board of Governors

A vice president (from the Middle Tennessee Grand Division — elected by the association’s membership-at-large). The vice president automatically assumes the office of president-elect in 2018 and president in 2019.

District Governors

District Governors in the 1st, 4th, and 5th (position 2) districts will be elected to three-year terms.  These governors are elected by the members in their respective districts.

Those who currently hold those positions are: Erin McArdle  (1st), Donna Pierce (4th), and Dan Berexa (5th, position 2).

Grand Division Governors

TBA Grand Division Governors are elected for one-year terms by the membership in each grand division.

To qualify, the petition must specify the particular seat the candidate is seeking in the denominated Grand Division (Position 1) or (Position 2).

Those who currently hold those positions are:

  • East Tennessee:
    • Sarah Sheppeard (Position 1)
    • Andy Roskind (Position 2)
  • Middle Tennessee:
    • Gary Shockley (Position 1)
    • David Veile (Position 2)
  • West Tennessee:
    • Nathan Shelby (Position 1)
    • Carl Carter (Position 2)

Sarah Sheppeard, David Veile, Nathan Shelby, and Carl Carter are eligible for re-election. Gary Shockley and Andy Roskind are ineligible for re-election due to term limits.

TBA Delegates to the ABA House of Delegates

Four members to represent the TBA in the American Bar Association (ABA) House of Delegates will be elected for two-year terms by the TBA membership in 2016.  The positions are designated positions 2, 4, 5, and 6.

Those who currently hold positions are Buck Lewis (2), John Tarpley (4), and Paul Campbell, III (5).

As a result of recent amendments to the ABA Constitution & Bylaws, the TBA is entitled to an additional seat in the ABA House (position 6).  The TBA Board will fill the vacancy in this seat for the ABA Midyear Meeting through the process outlined in the story at the end of this notice. The person elected by the membership for this position will then serve until the end of the 2017 annual meeting of the ABA.

Qualifying, Balloting and Elections

The officers, governors and delegates to the ABA are elected by the membership as provided by election procedures with petitions due Feb. 15, 2016.

To qualify for any of these offices, a candidate must file a nominating petition with the executive director of the TBA.  The petition must contain the names of 25 members of the association in good standing.  The petition must be received at the TBA office on or before Feb.  15, 2016.

The Board of Governors has authorized an electronic balloting system supervised by auditors selected by the Board. Beginning with the upcoming 2016 elections, the Tennessee Bar Association elections will be primarily carried out electronically — using online balloting. This change was approved by the TBA Board of Governors at its annual meeting in June under bylaw changes adopted by the TBA. Young Lawyers Division elections will also be conducted using the same procedure.

The TBA has used a combination of electronic voting and paper ballots since 2005 and has seen growing acceptance and usage of the online option. Most members are familiar with this method, but those who still prefer to cast paper ballots will be able to choose that method. Members will be able to opt out of electronic voting either through the TBA.org website (www.tba.org/tba/members/election_prefs) or by providing written notice to TBA Executive Director Allan Ramsaur at 221 Fourth Ave. North, Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37219. This notice must be provided by Feb. 1, 2016.

As in the past, TBA members voting electronically will receive an email with a link to the election site along with a password to use to cast their ballots. Tabulation of election results will continue to be carried out by an accounting firm selected by the board.

Candidates have until Feb. 15, 2016, to qualify to run in the 2016 elections. Voting will take place between March 1 and April 1, 2016.

To be counted, these mail ballots must be received by the deadline at the office of the TBA auditors. If there is only one duly-qualified candidate for an office by Feb.  15, 2016, that candidate will automatically be declared elected.


This notice is in accordance with bylaws of the TBA §15 and 40 through 46. For more information on running for any of these offices, visit the TBA’s website at www.tba.org/election-guidelines or call 615-383-7421 for an election handbook.

Board to Fill New TBA Seat in ABA House

This is to announce a vacancy in Position 6, TBA Delegate to ABA House of Delegates for the Mid-Year meeting of the ABA. Under the TBA Bylaws, the Board of Governors will fill the vacancy until the election for this position as announced above. In keeping with the precedent, submit a resumé and letter expressing interest to TBA Executive Director Allan F. Ramsaur by the deadline of Monday, Jan. 4, 2016. The names of all candidates will be placed in nomination with balloting for candidates proceeding until a candidate receives a majority of those present and voting.

YLD Election Petitions

Young lawyers interested in running for leadership positions within the Young Lawyers Division (YLD) have until Feb. 15, 2016, to file a nominating petition. This year, for the first time, candidates for Executive Committee positions must complete a nominating petition signed by at least 25 TBA members who are in good standing. These positions include: vice president, secretary, treasurer and the three grand division governors. Positions open for the 2016-2017 bar year include the following:

  • Vice President (must be from the Middle Grand Division)
  • East Tennessee Governor
  • Middle Tennessee Governor
  • West Tennessee Governor
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Even-numbered District Representatives:
    • District 2: Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Fentress, Grainger, Jefferson, Scott, Sevier, Union counties
    • District 4: Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Polk, Rhea, Roane counties
    • District 6: Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Jackson, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Van Buren, Warren, White counties
    • District 8: Macon, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, Wilson counties
    • District 10: Cheatham, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Stewart counties
    • District 12: Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion, Weakley counties
    • District 14: Shelby County

For each of the positions, candidates must be members of the division at the time of their nomination. Petitions should be submitted to YLD?Secretary Troy Weston at tweston@eblaw.us. Questions about the election should be directed to Weston at (865) 544-2010. Read the full election notice and download nominating petitions at www.tba.org/info/2016-election-notice-for-yld-offices or visit the YLD’s election webpage for details about length of terms and qualifications for office at www.tba.org/resource/yld-election-guidelines.