TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Katharine Heriges on Feb 19, 2016
Petitions for YLD officer positions were due on February 15. While the election for Vice President will be contested, the remaining positions were filled via unopposed candidates. Pursuant to the YLD bylaws, individuals who remain unopposed following the deadline for submission of nominating petitions are deemed elected. Joshua Dougan was named the new secretary of the YLD, Troy Weston named East Tennessee Governor and Nina Kumar named Middle Tennessee Governor. Ashley Holliday and Nicole Grida will retain their roles as treasurer and West Tennessee Governor, respectively.
In addition, seven district representative positions were up for election, and six were elected without opposition: Amanda Howard will become the new District 2 Representative, Sonia Jennings Boss will be the new District 8 Representative, and Emily Petro, Tessa Lawson, Jamie Durrett and Chasity Sharp Grice will reprise their roles as representatives of Districts 4, 6, 10 and 14. 
As no young lawyer filed a petition to become the District 12 Representative, the Executive Committee will make nominations for this seat by March 15. If you are interested in serving as District 12 representative, please contact Rachel Ralston Mancl at rmancl@hsdlaw.com.