TBA Law Blog

Posted by: TBA News on May 1, 2016

Journal Issue Date: May 2016

Journal Name: May 2016 - Vol. 52, No. 5

The Tennessee Supreme Court appointed former judge and Williamson County attorney Robert E. Lee Davies to the position of senior judge. Davies practices family law, personal injury and business litigation and also teaches family law at Nashville School of Law. He previously served from 2000 to 2008 as a circuit court judge in the 21st Judicial District. Senior judges are employed by the Supreme Court to hear cases in which other judges cannot serve because of a conflict, or in courts where there is a vacancy.

Charles Robert Bone has been named president and CEO of Bone McAllester Norton PLLC, Nashville’s sixth largest law firm. The role was previously held by the late founding member, Mike Norton. Bone concentrates his practice in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance and advising emerging businesses, and directors and governmental entities.

Regions Financial Corporation named Sharon Potter as a trust advisor to be located in the corporate office in Knoxville.  Prior to joining Regions, Potter was an attorney with Frantz, McConnell & Seymour LLP in Knoxville. She has experience in estate and trust planning and administration, probate and real estate. Potter will serve Cumberland County, Roane County, Rhea County, Morgan County and parts of Knoxville.

Legal Aid of East Tennessee staff attorney Kathryn Ellis was elected co-chair of the Blount County Task Force against Domestic Violence. The volunteer task force is an Action Team of the Blount County Community Health Initiative, focusing on domestic violence prevention and reduction, bullying prevention education in schools, and training for law enforcement. Ellis has been a staff attorney with LAET since 2012.

Jim DeLanis was appointed chairman of the Davidson County Election Commission by members of the commission. DeLanis, a shareholder in Baker Donelson’s Nashville office, concentrates his practice in business litigation, including contract disputes, banking and commercial paper, and unfair competition.

The Association for Women Attorneys announced Megan Warden will serve as the Tennessee Bar Association Young Lawyers Division representative for the 2016 board year. Warden practices with Shea, Moskovitz & McGhee in Memphis. Ginny Bozeman with the Shelby County Attorney’s Office will serve as the wellness/outreach chair. 

Ernest B. Williams IV and Michael B. Schwegler have authored the Tennessee chapter of Commercial Lending Law, Second Edition:  A Jurisdiction-by-Jurisdiction Guide to U.S. and Canadian Law, published in April by the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association. The treatise sets forth the authoritative summary of statutory and case law relevant to commercial lending in the state of Tennessee.

Linda Knight and her husband Dick were jointly named as the 2016 Distinguished Alumni of the Year for Cumberland School of Law on April 8. The award is given to a Cumberland graduate who has distinguished herself or himself in the practice of law, to the community and leadership in the profession.

FordHarrison LLP announced J. Gregory Grisham joined the firm’s Nashville and Memphis offices as partner. Grisham, who previously practiced at the firm of Leitner Williams Dooley & Napolitan PLLC, represents employers in all aspects of workplace law in Tennessee and across the United States. His practice also includes the defense of property owners and property management companies in federal and state housing discrimination charges and litigation.

The firm of Adams and Reese named Brad A. Lampley was named government relations team leader of the firm and will lead the firm’s largest practice area. Lampley, a partner in the firm’s Nashville office, serves as legislative counsel to a variety of businesses and trade associations with interests before the Tennessee General Assembly and state government. He also focuses his practice on business litigation and commercial dispute resolution.

Russell Fowler was named director of litigation and advocacy for the Legal Aid of East Tennessee. Fowler teaches constitutional law at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and writes the “History’s Verdict” column for the Tennessee Bar Journal. He is a member of the executive council of the TBA Litigation Law Section.

Margaret F. Cooper at Lewis Thomason’s Memphis office and Preston Hawkins, Sarah Sheppeard and Paul Whitt at Lewis Thomason’s Knoxville office were named shareholders. The firm also announced that Marisa Combs, Brad Telfeyan and Claire Thomas at the Nashville office, Edd Peyton and Casey Shannon at the Memphis office, and Shannon von Tol at the Knoxville office, were named special counsel.

Chad A. Cardwell was certified as an Accredited Estate Planner® designee by the National Association of Estate Planners & Councils. The AEP® designation is a graduate level specialization in estate planning. Cardwell is principal attorney with The Cardwell Firm PLLC in Memphis.

The Nashville Bar Foundation awarded Ashley T. Wiltshire Jr. the David Rutherford Award on March 12. The award is given to a Nashville Bar Foundation Fellow who exemplifies the memory and ideals of Nashville lawyer David Rutherford, who represented the highest standards of “professionalism, charitable contribution in the legal field and in the community as a whole, and the spirit of collegiality among bench and bar.”

The Nashville Bar Foundation also inducted its 2016 Class of Fellows. Tennessee Bar Association members among them are: Michael G. Abelow, Mary Beth Ausbrooks, Laura B. Baker, Charles Robert Bone, Samuel T. Bowman, Paul Kent Bramlett, C. David Briley, Matthew R. Burnstein, Jean Byassee, David Cañas, James R. Cartiglia, Robert F. Chapski, Jennifer Gingery Cook, Phillip F. Cramer, Alexander Davie, Ralph DeMarco, David N. Garst, Lynda Motes Hill, Brendi Kaplan, Suzanne Kessler, Ryan D. Levy, James Mackler, Rocky R. McElhaney II, Austin L. McMullen, Margaret Moore, Valerie Diden Moore, Junaid Adetayo Odubeko, Jason M. Pannu, Michelle Poss, Matt Potempa, Stephen H. Price, Scott A. Rhodes, Marissa Moses Russ, Peter C. Sales, Carolyn W. Schott, Eric W. Smith, Richard E. Spicer, Nancy Wood Stabell, Camille Webb Steward, Richard F. Warren Jr., Benjamin Whitehouse and Benjamin E. Winters.

Compiled by Linda Murphy and Amelia Ferrell. Tennessee Bar Association members may send information about job changes, awards and work-related news. Send it to SUCCESS! c/o The Journal at 221 Fourth Ave. N., Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37219-2198, or email to lmurphy@tnbar.org.

Submissions are subject to editing. Pictures are used on a space-available basis and cannot be returned. Electronic photos must be saved as a tiff or jpeg (with no compression), minimum resolution 200 dpi, and at least 1"x1.5" or they will not be used. For information on paid Professional Announcements, contact Jennie Russell at 800-647-1511.