TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Aug 30, 2016

The State Election Commission has voted to remove Democrat Michael Fitzgibbons from his post as Sevier County Election Commission chair after he refused to step down. Fitzgibbons is the only Democratic chair in the state, Humphrey on the Hill reports. Under a new law that took effect on July 1, all county chairs must be members of the political party representing a majority of the commission. Fitzgibbons was elected chair on a 3-2 vote after a Republican on the body mistakenly voted for him. The commission reorganized on Aug. 12 and elected Republican Jack Ogle as its new chairman, but Fitzgibbons has discounted that action.