TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Katharine Heriges on Apr 9, 2018
The Tennessee Republican Party Executive Committee has removed seven names from the Aug. 2 U.S. Senate primary ballot for not meeting the state party’s “bona fide” rules, Humphrey on the Hill reports. The party voted Saturday to uphold challenges to the following candidates based on their voting histories: David Anderson of Chattanooga, Rashad Lamar Coker of Clarksville, Larry Crim of Nashville, Tommy Hay of Monterey, Theresa “Terri” Honeycutt of Woodlawn, J. Darrell Lynn of Franklin and Rolando Toyos of Brentwood. That leaves only Jim Elkins and Aaron L. Pettigrew to face U.S. Rep. Marsha Blackburn for the nomination. The committee also voted to remove Eddie Murphy of Franklin from the Republican gubernatorial ballot.