TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Sep 13, 2019

The University of Memphis will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Memphis State Eight at an event Sept. 18 at 6 p.m. in the University Center Theatre. A reception will follow. The Memphis State Eight – Luther McClellan, Marvis Kneeland Jones, Sammie Burnett Johnson, Ralph Prater, Eleanor Gandy, Rose Blakney Love, Bertha Rogers Looney and John Simpson – were the first African Americans to integrate the school in September 1959. Five members will be in attendance at the event. The other three – Johnson, Gandy and Love – are deceased. The event is free and open to the public, the Daily Memphian reports.