TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Jan 13, 2021

Tennessee lawmakers officially started the new legislative session Tuesday, with members of the state Senate and House of Representatives re-electing Senate Speaker Randy McNally and House Speaker Cameron Sexton, respectively, WPLN reports. Today, lawmakers elected three constitutional officers: the secretary of state, treasurer and comptroller. Democratic leaders from both chambers called for a no-confidence vote on Secretary of State Tre Hargett during the proceedings but he was reappointed, according to the Nashville Post. David Lillard was re-elected treasurer without opposition. The comptroller election was the only position seeing a change with retiring Comptroller Justin Wilson being replaced by his top deputy Jason Mumpower.

Senate Speaker McNally, R-Oak Ridge, also named new chairs of two committees. Sen. Brian Kelsey, R-Germantown, will take over as chair of the Education Committee following the retirement of Dolores Gresham. Sen. Richard Briggs, R-Knoxville, will take over as chair of the State and Local Government Committee following the electoral defeat of Steve Dickerson. Committee assignments have yet to be made in the House, but draft rules signal a change in the overall makeup of the committees, the Tennessee Journal reports. Speaker Sexton is expected to once again split the Judiciary Committee into two standing panels: Civil Justice and Criminal Justice. He also reportedly plans to turn the Education panel into separate Education Administration and Education Instruction committees. Finally, he is expected to sunset the Consumer and Human Resources Committee.