TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Tba People on Oct 30, 2008

Journal Issue Date: Nov 2008

Journal Name: November 2008 - Vol. 44, No. 11

Ash reelected Court of Judiciary presiding judge
Circuit Court Judge Don Ash of the 16th Judicial District has been elected to a second term as presiding judge of the Tennessee Court of the Judiciary. The 15-member panel receives complaints against judges and imposes sanctions for violations of the Code of Judicial Conduct.

Ash, of Murfreesboro, has been a Circuit Court judge since 1994. He previously served as city judge in LaVergne and was in the private practice of law. His a past-president of the Tennessee Judicial Conference, which includes all of the state's appellate, trial and senior judges, and has been a member of the Court of the Judiciary since his 2003 appointment by the Tennessee Supreme Court.

Adams and Reese has promoted two attorneys to management positions in its Nashville office. Brad A. Lampley has become partner in charge of the downtown office, while Kolin B. Holladay has become coleader of the Corporate/Securities/ Mergers and Acquisitions Practice Team within the Transactions and Corporate Advisory Services Group. Lampley focuses his practice on business litigation, real estate and construction litigation; commercial dispute resolution; and sports law, and on counseling trade associations and businesses with interests before the Tennessee General Assembly. Holladay represents public and private companies in a range of legal matters including compliance with securities laws, securities offerings, mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance and contract issues.

The 20/20 Leadership Alliance recently announced the winners of the 2008 Nashville Emerging Leaders Awards (NELAs) program. In the legal services category, TBA member Jonathan Cole was selected. Cole is a shareholder and chair of the firm-wide Pro Bono Committee at Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC. He served as the first-ever Nashville lawyer to chair the American Bar Association's Young Lawyers Division, and was named Volunteer of the Year by the YMCA of Middle Tennessee. He currently sits on the board of directors for Young Leaders Council and the Nashville Bar Association.

Knoxville lawyer Heather G. Anderson recently accepted an invitation to join the Hamilton Burnett Chapter of the American Inns of Court. Anderson serves with Howard & Howard PC where she handles civil litigation and employment and real estate law. Prior to joining the firm she practiced in Memphis with Young & Perl. Anderson earned her law degree from the University of Memphis in 1998.

Clarksville attorney Christopher J. Pittman was recently appointed by the Tennessee Supreme Court to a three-year term as a hearing committee member for the Board of Professional Responsibility. Pittman is a former president of the Montgomery County Bar Association and is a partner in the Clarksville law firm of Patton & Pittman.

The Board of Directors of the Tennessee Justice Center has elected new officers for 2008-2009. Among them are TBA members David R. Esquivel, a member with Bass Berry & Sims PLC in Nashville, and Cynthia R. Wyrick, a shareholder with Ogle, Gass & Richardson PC in Sevierville. Esquivel, who was elected chair, focuses his litigation practice on antitrust and other competition-related matters. Wyrick, who was elected vice chair, practices in the areas of personal injury, medical malpractice, worker's compensation, wills and estates, and family law. Returning board members include Justice E. Riley Anderson, Tennessee Supreme Court retired; Gail Vaughn Ashworth, Gideon & Wiseman; William H. Farmer, Farmer & Luna PLLC; Barbara Dale Holmes, Harwell Howard Hyne Gabbert & Manner PC; Nancy Fraas MacLean, Thomson West; and Ellen B. Vergos, Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs LLP.

Nashville lawyer Derek C. Jumper has been named a senior associate at Frost Brown Todd, where he has served since 2004. Jumper handles commercial litigation, with a focus on banking law, commercial contracts, and fire and explosion cases. Prior to joining the firm, Jumper worked in Washington D.C. as press secretary for the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources from 1997 to 1999, and as media director for the American Forest & Paper Association from 1999 to 2001. He received his law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 2004.

Kingsport native Darrell L. Castle has been selected as the 2008 vice presidential candidate on the Constitution Party ticket. A graduate of the Memphis State University School of Law, Castle has practiced bankruptcy and personal injury law for almost 30 years. He operates the Castle Law Firms in Memphis, St. Louis and Kansas City. He currently resides in Germantown.

Memphis divorce attorney Larry Rice was the featured speaker at two recent conferences. In August, he appeared before the Missouri Bar Association's 2008 Family Law Conference in Lake Ozark. In September he spoke on law office management, client retention and trial preparation at PESI's annual national conference in Las Vegas.

Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis partner Donald B. Stuart has been appointed vice chairman of the American Health Lawyers Association's (AHLA) Tax and Finance Practice Group. Stuart practices in Nashville as a partner in Waller Lansden's tax practice group. He earned his law degree in 1995 from Thomas M. Cooley Law School and an L.L.M. in taxation from the University of Florida in 1997.

At its annual banquet in October, the Association for Women Attorneys inducted Jennifer Hagerman as its new president and honored Ruby R. Wharton as the Marion Griffin-Frances Loring Award recipient for outstanding service in the legal profession. Both women practice law in Memphis. Hagerman serves with Burch, Porter & Johnson PLLC and practices in the areas of commercial and employment litigation. Wharton, the wife of Shelby County Mayor A C Wharton, is a partner with Wharton & Wharton & Associates.

Stephen M. Montgomery has joined the Nashville law firm of Neal & Harwell PLC as an associate. He previously served as law clerk to Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Alan E. Glenn. Montgomery received his law degree in 2007 from Vanderbilt University Law School. As a student he served as a research assistant in corporate and securities law.

Court Appointed Special Advocates of Nashville & Davidson County has named its officers and new board members for 2008-2009. TBA members among the group are secretary Eileen Burkhalter Smith with Waller Lansden Dortch & David LLP, and board members Andrea Perry with Bone McAllester Norton PLLC, Candice Reed with Counsel on Call and Donna Lee Roberts with Stites & Harbison PLLC. Andrew B. Williams II with HCA Inc. is the immediate past president.

Former Tennessee Senator and Ambassador Howard H. Baker Jr. was honored with American Lawyer magazine's 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award at a ceremony in October. The award recognized his contributions as a lawmaker, public servant and private practice attorney. Baker currently serves as senior counsel in the Huntsville office of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz.