Press Releases

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Jun 12, 2012

Andree S. Blumstein, Scott Griswold awarded annual honor

NASHVILLE, June 12, 2012 -- The Justice Joe Henry Award for Outstanding Legal Writing was given to two Tennessee Bar Journal authors this year: Nashville lawyer Andree S. Blumstein and Knoxville lawyer Scott Griswold at the TBA's annual meeting in Memphis Friday.

Blumstein's winning article is "Bye Bye Hannan? What a Difference Two Little Words, at Trial, Will Make in the Formulation of Tennessee's Summary Judgment Standard," which was published in the August 2011 issue of the Tennessee Bar Journal. Blumstein is a partner at Sherrard & Roe PLC in Nashville. Her practice, which focuses on appellate litigation, includes a special emphasis on state and federal antitrust counseling and litigation. She received her law degree from Vanderbilt University and is chair of the Tennessee Bar Journal Editorial Board.

Griswold's article, "Service of Process After Hall v. Haynes: Practice Tips for Counsel and Advice for Management" was published in the March 2011 issue of the Tennessee Bar Journal. Griswold is an associate with Paine, Tarwater and Bickers LLP in Knoxville. He received his law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 2007. During law school, he served as chair of the Moot Court Board and as a member of the Trademark Moot Court Team. He was elected to the Order of the Barristers and received awards for academic excellence in Advanced Property and Trial Practice. After graduation he served as a law clerk to Chief Justice William M. Barker of the Tennessee Supreme Court, and joined the firm in September 2008. Last year, Griswold won the TBA's Harris Gilbert Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award.
The Justice Joseph W. Henry Award, established in 1981, is given each year to encourage practicing Tennessee lawyers to write scholarly yet practical articles for the benefit of their colleagues. The award recipient is selected by a committee of three: the president of the Tennessee Bar Association, the chief justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court and the dean of one of the state's law schools. This year, the judges were TBA President Danny Van Horn, Tennessee Supreme Court Chief Justice Connie Clark and Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Dean Kevin H. Smith. It is the first time in the 31-year-history of the award that two articles have been named.
The 2012 Tennessee Bar Association Annual Convention was held in conjunction with four other legal organizations -- the Tennessee Alliance for Black Lawyers (TABL), the Tennessee Lawyers' Association for Women (TLAW), the Tennessee Association for Justice (TAJ) and the Tennessee Judicial Conference. This joint meeting structure allows the groups to address common issues and concerns. It also offers opportunities for additional education, long-range planning, and recognition of attorneys who have performed outstanding legal work and community service.