Press Releases

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Jun 21, 2013

Class of 32 graduates at TBA convention in Nashville

NASHVILLE, June 20, 2013 — Thirty-two attorneys from across the state graduated from the Tennessee Bar Association's Leadership Law program during the association's annual convention in Nashville last week.

At the group’s graduation ceremony, Knoxville lawyer and class member Daniel Headrick was presented with the Larry Dean Wilks Leadership Award. The award, named for former TBA President Larry D. Wilks, is selected by the class and recognizes a class member with exceptional leadership qualities. Headrick is an associate attorney at the Knoxville firm of Paine, Tarwater, & Bickers, practicing civil litigation in a variety of areas, including employment law, product liability, personal injury and construction law. He received his undergraduate and master's degrees in religious studies from the University of Tennessee. He graduated from the University of Tennessee College of Law in May 2007.

Now in its 10th year, Leadership Law is designed to equip Tennessee lawyers with the vision, knowledge and skills necessary to serve as leaders in their profession and local communities. Over the course of six months, class members learn about leadership in the legal profession, issues in the courts, policymaking in state government and the importance of community service.

Graduating class members are:

  • Laura Bishop Baker, Law Offices of John Day, Brentwood
  • Ahsaki E. Baptist, Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, Memphis
  • Danielle W. Barnes, State Department of Human Resources, Nashville
  • Lee Bussart Bowles, Marshall County General Sessions Judge, Lewisburg
  • Miranda R. Christy, Stites & Harbison, Nashville
  • H. Garth Click, Click Law Office, Springfield
  • Christopher E. Coleman, Tennessee Justice Center, Nashville
  • Aaron J. Conklin, Administrative Office of the Courts, Nashville
  • Margaret F. Cooper, Thomason, Hendrix, Harvey, Johnson & Mitchell, Memphis
  • Caitlin E. Doty, Tennessee Attorney General’s Office, Nashville
  • Mary Beth Hagan, Hagan & Farrar PLLC, Murfreesboro
  • William A. “Trey” Harris III, McColpin, Coffman & Harris, Chattanooga
  • Daniel C. Headrick, Paine, Tarwater & Bickers, Knoxville
  • Robert C. Hillyer, Butler, Snow, O’Mara, Stevens & Cannada, Memphis
  • Meredith B. Humbert, Hunter, Smith & Davis, Kingsport
  • Mark A. Ison, Sherrard & Roe, Nashville
  • Joshua H. Jenne, Jenne, Scott & Jenne, Cleveland
  • Carrie E. Kerley, The Landers Firm, Memphis
  • Caroline E. Knight, 13th Judicial District Attorney General’s Office, Crossville
  • Teresa A. Luna, Spragins, Barnett & Cobb, Jackson
  • Jason R. McLellan, McLellan Law Office, Kingsport
  • R. Brad Morgan, University of Tennessee, Knoxville    
  • Kristi J. Murray, Legal Aid Society of East Tennessee, Johnson City
  • P. Matthew Potempa, Law Office of Matt Potempa, Nashville    
  • Angela B. Rauber, City of Knoxville Law Department, Knoxville
  • Ben J. Scott, Butler, Snow, O'Mara, Stevens & Cannada, Memphis
  • Adam C. Simpson, Martin, Tate, Morrow & Marston, Memphis
  • Terica N. Smith, Office of the District Attorney, Lexington
  • Pamela G. Vawter, Flippin, Collins & Hill, Milan
  • J. David Wicker, Roberts & Wicker, Nashville
  • Jon A. York, Pentecost & Glenn, Jackson
  • Kinika L. Young, Bass, Berry & Sims, Nashville

Photographs and additional biographical information are available for class members on request

Learn more about Leadership Law