Press Releases

Posted by: Katharine Heriges on Jun 19, 2017

Raybin, Amundsen, Levy Honored for Excellence in Legal Writing

NASHVILLE, June 19, 2017 — Nashville lawyer Benjamin K. Raybin, Memphis Lawyer Amy J. Amundsen and former Nashville lawyer Jeffrey L. Levy were honored on Friday with Justice Joseph W. Henry Memorial Award for Outstanding Legal Writing at the Tennessee Bar Association’s annual Convention in Kingsport.
The Joe W. Henry Award is given each year to a member of the Tennessee Bar Association who contributes the most outstanding article to the TBA’s monthly magazine, the Tennessee Bar Journal. Raybin received the award for his article “Pardon Me: How Executive Clemency Works in Tennessee (and How It Doesn’t),” published in the August 2016 issue. Amundsen and Levy were honored for their point/counterpoint articles, “Confusion / Clarity: Two Family Law Attorneys on How to Balance Best Interests of Children and Doctor-Patient Privilege,” published in May 2016.
Raybin is an associate at Raybin & Weissman, P.C., where he practices primarily criminal defense and civil rights law. He received his J.D. from Vanderbilt University, where he was a member of the Law Review. He clerked for Judges Jane B. Stranch and Gilbert S. Merritt, both of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. He has successfully argued cases in front of the Tennessee Supreme Court and the Tennessee Court of Appeals.
Amy practices law with Rice, Amundsen & Caperton PLLC in Memphis. She is a graduate of the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law. She has served as chair of the Tennessee Bar Association Family Law section, president of the Memphis Bar Association, president of the Memphis chapter of the American Inns of Court and is one of the 100 Diplomates in the American College of Family Trial Lawyers. For the past 15 years she has chaired the Alimony Bench Book Committee of the TBA Family Law Section.
Levy has been a family law practitioner in Nashville, but recently relocated to South Carolina and is in the process of retiring. A graduate of Vanderbilt University Law School, he is a past chair of the Tennessee Bar Association’s Family Law Section and of the Nashville Bar Association’s Domestic Relations Committee. He has also a past chair of the TBA’s Family Law Code Committee.
The Joe Henry award is named for Justice Joseph W. Henry, a former chief justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court, practicing lawyer, scholar, and writer with a rare talent for clear, forceful and often dramatic prose. The award was established in 1981 to encourage scholarly yet practical writing to benefit the members of the bar. The winners were chosen this year by a panel which included Judge Brandon Gibson of the Western Section Court of Appeals, TBA President Jason Long, Dean Gary Wade of the Lincoln Memorial University Duncan School of Law and Dean Melanie D. Wilson of the University of Tennessee College of Law.