Press Releases

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Jun 22, 2010

New inductees honored at TBA convention in Nashville

NASHVILLE, June 22, 2010 — Seven Tennessee lawyers were named fellows of the Tennessee Bar Association Young Lawyers Division (TBA YLD) during the association's annual convention this month in Nashville. The TBA's incoming president, Sam Elliott of Chattanooga, also was inducted as an honorary member of the group.

The TBA YLD Fellows was founded to promote the objectives of the YLD and to encourage young lawyers to be active in the TBA. New members are invited to join the organization based on their involvement with and commitment to the YLD while they were young lawyers. The Fellows organization meets annually during the TBA's summer convention to elect officers and induct new members.

The new inductees are as follows:

Patrick M. Carter, a partner with Hardin, Parkes, Kelley & Carter PLLC in Columbia served the YLD from 2002 to 2009, first as District 11 Representative and then as Middle Tennessee Governor. His contributions include serving as chair of the Children's Issues Committee and as a member of a special committee formed to undertake a major revision of the division's bylaws. He also completed the TBA's Leadership Law program and currently holds the position of 6th District Governor on the TBA Board of Governors. In the community, Carter has been active in the Maury County Bar Association, serving on its board of directors. He also has served as president of the local CASA agency and as co-chair of the Maury County Supreme Court SCALES Project. He earned his law degree in 2000 from the University of Florida College of Law.

Memphis lawyer and Adams and Reese partner Brian S. Faughnan was inducted for his service to the division, first as District 14 Representative in Memphis and then as a contributor to the YLD's quarterly newsletter Tennessee Young Lawyer. Faughnan practices in the areas of legal ethics and professional responsibility, commercial litigation and media law. He earned his law degree in 1998 from the University of Memphis School of Law.

Knoxville lawyer Carol Anne Long served the YLD from 2001 to 2006 -- first as District 3 Representative in Knoxville, then as vice chair and chair of the Continuing Legal Education Committee. She also served on the Long Range Planning Committee and as the Knoxville membership director. Following graduation from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 2000, Long clerked for Tennessee Court of Appeals Judge Charles D. Susano Jr.

Maryville lawyer Justin Martin with Kizer & Black Attorneys PLLC served the YLD as District 4 Representative from 2006 to 2010. During his time in the organization, Martin organized three public service projects that raised nearly $30,000 for New Hope, the Blount County children's advocacy center. He also was a strong supporter of the TBA's pro bono initiatives, organizing multiple legal clinics in Blount County over the years. He has remained active in the TBA, completing, and then chairing the alumni board of, the Leadership Law program and serving on the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee. Martin earned his law degree in 2000 from the University of Tennessee College of Law. Prior to joining Kizer & Black, he clerked for U.S. District Court Judge James H. Jarvis and the Knoxville U.S. Attorney's Office. He now focuses his practice in the areas of commercial and business law.

Crossville lawyer Margaret Jane Powers, founder of the Powers Law Firm, was inducted for her support of the YLD. As a member of the TBA House of Delegates and Board of Governors, Powers has had many opportunities to review the programs and initiatives of the YLD and has been an outspoken advocate of those efforts. She also regularly supports initiatives that benefit young lawyers. Powers earned her law degree in 1980 from the University of Tennessee College of Law. She maintains a general practice with a focus on employment discrimination, family law, workers' compensation cases and criminal defense.

Clarksville lawyer Ray Runyon with Runyon & Runyon served the YLD from 2004 to 2008, first as vice chair and chair of the Disaster Relief Committee and then as District 10 Representative. Under his leadership, the Disaster Relief Committee created a guide for pro bono lawyers to use when helping victims of natural disasters. That product has proved invaluable and one of the most-highly requested resources following the recent flood disaster in Middle Tennessee. Runyon also is active in the Montgomery County Bar Association, and has served as president of the group. He graduated from the University of Tulsa College of Law in 1998.

Kingsport lawyer Laura Steel Woods, a partner with Hunter, Smith & Davis LLP, served as chair of the Law School Outreach Committee from 2002 to 2006. During her tenure, Woods revolutionized the law school outreach program, recruiting student liaisons at each school, instituting on-site campus visits, and organizing networking events for law students to interact with local attorneys. Law student membership in the TBA grew during this time and the efforts strengthened relationships between the association and Tennessee's law schools. Woods graduated from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 1999. Her work at Hunter, Smith & Davis focuses on labor and employment, education and civil rights law, as well as commercial litigation.

Finally, TBA's new president Sam D. Elliott was inducted as an honorary member of the group. Elliott is a member in the Chattanooga firm of Gearhiser, Peters, Cavett, Elliott & Cannon, where he practices in the field of civil litigation. His experience includes handling cases involving products liability, personal injury, employment discrimination and eminent domain. In addition, he advises clients on issues of employment law, environmental law, commercial disputes and professional liability. He also represents the municipal governments of Soddy Daisy, Collegedale and Lakesite. Elliott earned his law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 1981. The TBA YLD Fellows makes it a practice to induct new presidents into the group as a way to honor their service to the bar and the state.

For photographs or additional biographical information on any these inductees, please contact the TBA at (615) 383-7421.