TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Aug 29, 2013

The TBA YLD was recognized for a number of programs and activities at the ABA YLD Annual Meeting in San Francisco this month. The YLD was awarded first place in the Minority Project category for its new invited guest program, which seeks to include the broadest range of perspectives and experiences on its governing board by inviting representatives from all specialty and minority bars in the state to attend meetings and participate in decision-making. The YLD also received special recognition for its annual Mock Trial Competition and its overall member service and public service initiatives. Read more about the programs that were recognized in a message from YLD President David McDowell.

Under the division's new invited guest policy, representatives from the following organizations are now serving on the YLD Board:

  • Tiffany G. Johnson, Tennessee Alliance of Black Lawyers
  • S. Lanta Wang, Tennessee Asian Pacific American Bar Association
  • Terica N. Smith, NBA Ballard Taylor Chapter, Jackson
  • Amber D. Floyd, NBA Ben F. Jones Chapter, Memphis
  • Louise Chandler Biedenharn, Association for Women Attorneys, Memphis
  • Charity Miles Williams, East Tennessee Lawyers Association for Women, Knoxville
  • Kortney Simmons, Lawyers Association for Women Anne Schneider Chapter, Jackson
  • Corrin P. Fulton, Southeast Tennessee Lawyers Association for Women, Chattanooga

Seats are still available for young lawyers associated with the following groups. Those who are interested in serving should contact the president of their respective organization:

  • Tennessee Association of Spanish Speaking Attorneys
  • Tennessee Lawyers Association for Women
  • NBA Napier Looby Chapter, Nashville
  • NBA S.L. Hutchins Chapter, Chattanooga
  • NBA William Hastie Chapter, Knoxville
  • Female Attorneys of the Mountain Empire, Kingsport
  • Lawyers Association for Women Marion Griffin Chapter, Nashville

Special thanks goes to Marshall County General Sessions Judge Lee Bussart Bowles who prepared and submitted this year's award applications. Without her work none of these awards would be a reality.