TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Nov 23, 2015

Beginning with the 2016 elections, the Tennessee Bar Association elections will be primarily carried out electronically using online balloting. This change was approved by the TBA Board of Governors at its annual meeting in June under bylaw changes adopted by the TBA. Young Lawyers Division elections also will be conducted using the same procedure.

The TBA has used a combination of electronic voting and paper ballots since 2005 and has seen growing acceptance and usage of the online option. Most members are familiar with this method, but those who still prefer to cast paper ballots will be able to choose that method.

Members will be able to opt out of electronic voting either through the TBA.org website or by providing written notice to TBA Executive Director Allan Ramsaur at 221 Fourth Ave. North, Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37219 by Feb. 1, 2016.

TBA members, regardless of their preferred method of voting, will receive a ballot specific to their district or grand division; however, all YLD-specific elections will remain at-large races.

As in the past, TBA members voting electronically will receive an email with a link to the election site along with a password to use to cast their ballots. Tabulation of election results will continue to be carried out by an accounting firm selected by the board.

The TBA Young Lawyers Division previously conducted election of officers and district representatives using in-person voting at its annual meeting during the TBA Annual Convention. This voting now will take place on the same ballot as the main TBA races.

“These changes will make voting more efficient and cost-effective for the TBA,” Ramsaur said. “It will also allow for broader participation by the full membership.”

Candidates have until Feb. 15, 2016, to qualify to run in the 2016 elections. Watch for more information on open positions in the December Tennessee Bar Journal, December E-DICT and upcoming TBAToday editions. Voting will take place between March 1 and April 1, 2016.