TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Journal News on Dec 1, 2016

Journal Issue Date: Dec 2016

Journal Name: December 2016 - Vol. 52, No. 12

During 2017, the following officers, governors and delegates of the Tennessee Bar Association (TBA) will be elected as set forth in the association’s bylaws:

TBA Officers and Board of Governors

A vice president (from the East Tennessee Grand Division — elected by the association’s membership-at-large). The vice president automatically assumes the office of president-elect in 2019 and president in 2020.

District Governors

District Governors in the 2nd, 5th (Position 1) and 5th (Position 2) districts will be elected to full three-year terms. These governors are elected by the members from their respective districts. 

Those who currently hold those positions are: Tasha Blakney (2nd), Mary Dohner Smith (5th, Position 1) and Nathan Shelby (5th, Position 2). Tasha Blakney is ineligible for re-election because of term limits. Mary Dohner Smith and Nathan Shelby are eligible for reelection.

District Governors to fill the balance of unexpired terms will be elected in the 1st and 7th districts. Those who currently hold those positions are Deborah Yeomans-Barton (1st) and Michelle Sellers (7th), who are both eligible for re-election.

Grand Division Governors

TBA Grand Division Governors are elected for one-year terms by the membership in each grand division.

  • Two East Tennessee governors from the 1st, 2nd or 3rd district.
  • Two Middle Tennessee governors from the 4th, 5th or 6th district.
  • Two West Tennessee governors from the 7th or 8th district.

To qualify, the petition must specify the particular seat the candidate is seeking in the denominated Grand Division (Position 1) or (Position 2).

Those who currently hold those positions are:

East Tennessee:    
Sarah Sheppeard
(Position 1)
Shelly Wilson (Position 2)

Middle Tennessee:
Scott Sims (Position 1)    
David Veile (Position 2)

West Tennessee:    
Mason Wilson (Position 1)
Carl Carter (Position 2).

Shelly Wilson, Scott Sims, Mason Wilson and Carl Carter are eligible for re-election. Sarah Sheppeard and David Veile are ineligible for re-election because of term limits.

TBA Delegates to the ABA House of Delegates

Two members to represent the TBA in the American Bar Association (ABA) House of Delegates will be elected for two-year terms by the TBA membership in 2017.

The positions are designated positions 1 and 3.

The delegate in position 3 must be thirty-five (35) years of age or younger when the term begins at the close of the 2017 ABA Annual Meeting.

Those who currently hold positions are Jonathan Cole (1) and Troy Weston (3).

Qualifying, Balloting & Elections
The officers, governors and delegates to the ABA are elected by the membership as provided by election procedures with petitions due Feb. 15, 2017.

To qualify for any of these offices, a candidate must file a nominating petition with the executive director of the TBA. The petition must contain the names of 25 members of the association in good standing. The petition must be received at the TBA office on or before Feb. 15, 2017.

The Board of Governors has authorized an electronic balloting system supervised by auditors selected by the Board. The Tennessee Bar Association elections will be primarily carried out electronically — using online balloting.  Most members are familiar with this electronic method, but those who still prefer to cast paper ballots will be able to choose that method. Members will be able to opt out of electronic voting either through the TBA.org website at https://www.tba.org/tba/members/election_prefs or by providing written notice to TBA Executive Director Allan Ramsaur at 221 Fourth Ave. North, Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37219. This notice must be provided by Jan. 31, 2017.

As in the past, TBA members voting electronically will receive an email with a link to the election site along with a password to use to cast their ballots. Tabulation of election results will continue to be carried out by an accounting firm selected by the board.

Candidates have until Feb. 15, 2017, to qualify to run in the 2017 elections. Voting will take place between March 1 and April 1, 2017.

To be counted, mail ballots must be received by the deadline at the office of the TBA auditors.  If there is only one duly-qualified candidate for an office by Feb. 15, 2017, that candidate will automatically be declared elected.

TBA House of Delegates

Members of the TBA House of Delegates are elected in odd-numbered years.  One member of the TBA House of Delegates from each Judicial District and one additional delegate from the 6th (Knox County), 11th (Hamilton County), 20th (Davidson County) and 30th (Shelby County) are to be elected in 2017.  The following is a list of the current members of the House from each district whose terms expire this year:

1st District – Elizabeth Hutton
2nd District – Leslie Ridings
3rd District – Aaron Chapman
4th District – Eve Charlesworth
5th District – Steve Ogle
6th District – Ginny Schwamm and Andy Roskind
7th District – Neil McBride
8th District – James Romer
9th District – Loren Plemmons
10th District – Marcia McMurray
11th District – Alicia Oliver and Arnold Stulce
12th District – Graham Swafford
13th District – Jane Powers
14th District – John LaBar
15th District – Jody Aulds
16th District – Ewing Sellers
17th District – Lee Bussart
18th District – Tim Takacs
19th District – Jamie Durrett
20th District – Charlie High and Max Fleischer
21st District – Shauna Billingsley
22nd District – Michael Cox
23rd District – VACANT
24th District – Charlie Trotter
25th District – Kasey Culbreath
26th District – Linda Seely
27th District – Paul Hutcherson
28th District – Jerry Flippin
29th District – Karen Burns
30th District – Randy Womack and Walt Schuler
31st District – Michael Galligan

TBA House of Delegates Qualifying, Balloting & Elections
To qualify as a candidate for the TBA House of Delegates a TBA member must file a declaration of candidacy with the executive director of the TBA at the TBA office on or before Feb. 15, 2017.


This notice is in accordance with bylaws of the TBA §15 and 40 through 46.

For more information on running for any of these offices, visit the TBA’s website at https://www.tba.org/election-guidelines or call 615-383-7421 for an election handbook.