TBA Law Blog

Posted by: Journal News on Dec 1, 2017

Journal Issue Date: Dec 2017

Journal Name: December 2017 - Vol. 53, No. 12

Deadline to Apply to Run for TBA?Office is Feb. 15, 2018

During 2018, the following officers, governors and delegates of the Tennessee Bar Association (TBA) will be elected as set forth in the association’s bylaws:

TBA Officers and Board of Governors

A vice president (from the West Tennessee Grand Division — elected by the association’s membership-at-large). The vice president automatically assumes the office of president-elect in 2019 and president in 2020.

District Governors  

District Governors in the 3rd, 6th and 8th districts will be elected to three-year terms. These governors are elected by the members in their respective district.

Those who currently hold those positions are: David McDowell (3rd), Kim Helper (6th) and Brian Faughnan (8th). Kim Helper is ineligible for reelection as district governor because of term limits.  David McDowell and Brian Faughnan are eligible for reelection.

District Governors to fill the balance of unexpired terms will be elected in the 4th and 5th (Position 2) districts. Those who currently hold those positions are Donna Pierce (4th) and John Farringer (5th – Position 2).  Donna Pierce is not seeking reelection to her seat.  John Farringer is eligible for reelection.

Grand Division Governors

TBA Grand Division Governors are elected for one-year terms by the membership in each grand division.

  • Two East Tennessee governors from the 1st, 2nd or 3rd district.
  • Two Middle Tennessee governors from the 4th, 5th or 6th district.
  • Two West Tennessee governors from the 7th or 8th district.

To qualify, the petition must specify the particular seat the candidate is seeking in the denominated Grand Division (Position 1) or (Position 2).

Those who currently hold those positions are:

East Tennessee:
Tasha Blakney (Position 1)
Mary Beth Maddox (Position 2)

Middle Tennessee: 
Rachel Moses (Position 1)
Ramona DeSalvo (Position 2)

West Tennessee:   
Mason Wilson (Position 1)
Carl Carter (Position 2)

Tasha Blakney, Mary Beth Maddox, Rachel Moses, Ramona DeSalvo and Mason Wilson are eligible for reelection.  Carl Carter is ineligible for reelection because of term limits.

TBA Delegates to the ABA House of Delegates

Three members to represent the TBA in the American Bar Association (ABA) House of Delegates will be elected for two-year terms by the TBA membership in 2018. The positions are designated positions 2, 4, 5 and 6.

Those who currently hold these positions are Buck Lewis (2), John Tarpley (4), Danny Van Horn (5) and Gail Ashworth (6).

Qualifying, Balloting & Elections

The officers, governors and delegates to the ABA are elected by the membership as provided by election procedures with petitions due Feb. 15, 2018.

To qualify for any of these offices, a candidate must file a nominating petition with the executive director of the TBA.  The petition must contain the names of 25 members of the association in good standing. The petition must be received at the TBA office on or before Feb.15, 2018.

The Board of Governors has authorized an electronic balloting system supervised by auditors selected by the Board.  The Tennessee Bar Association elections will be primarily carried out electronically — using online balloting. Most members are familiar with this electronic method, but those who still prefer to cast paper ballots will be able to choose that method. Members will be able to opt out of electronic voting either through the TBA.org website (http://www.tba.org/tba/members/election_prefs) or by providing written notice to TBA Executive Director Joycelyn Stevenson at 221 Fourth Ave. North, Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37219. This notice must be provided by Jan. 31, 2018.

As in the past, TBA members voting electronically will receive an email with a link to the election site along with a password to use to cast their ballots. Tabulation of election results will continue to be carried out by an accounting firm selected by the board.

Candidates have until Feb. 15, 2018, to qualify to run in the 2018 elections. Voting will take place between March 1 and April 1, 2018.

To be counted, mail ballots must be received by the deadline at the office of the TBA auditors.  If there is only one duly-qualified candidate for an office by Feb. 15, 2018, that candidate will
automatically be declared elected.


This notice is in accordance with bylaws of the TBA §15 and 40 through 46.

For more information on running for any of these offices, visit the TBA’s website at http://www.tba.org/election-guidelines or call 615-383-7421 for an election handbook.