Press Releases

Posted by: Stacey Shrader Joslin on Jun 28, 2016

Class of 31 graduates, selects Gallatin lawyer for service award

NASHVILLE, June 27, 2016 -- Thirty-one attorneys from across the state graduated from the Tennessee Bar Association’s Leadership Law program during the association's annual convention in Nashville last week. The group spent the last six months learning about leadership in the legal profession, issues in the courts, policymaking in state government and the importance of community service.

At the graduation ceremony, Gallatin lawyer C. Jay Ingrum was presented with the Larry Dean Wilks Leadership Award. The award, named for former TBA President Larry D. Wilks, recognizes a class member with exceptional leadership qualities. Ingrum is an attorney with Phillips & Ingrum, where he handles criminal law, family law, juvenile, personal injury, probate and collections cases. He is the fifth recipient of the award. The recipient is selected by each year’s class based on the following leadership characteristics:

• Demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities that enhance the Leadership Law experience for all class members.
• Exhibits leadership-by-example qualities by fully engaging in all aspects of the Leadership Law program.
• Promotes the Leadership Law program goals through service-oriented actions and initiatives.
• Fosters consensus from differing opinions and ideas without regard to background or cultural status.
• Enhances the education of other class members through thoughtful and respectful debate.

Graduating class members are:
Blind Akrawi, Neal & Harwell PLC, Nashville
Catherine Anglin, Paine|Bickers LLP, Knoxville
John Billings, Appalachian Underwriters Inc.
Knoxville Daniel Ellis, Ellis and Ellis Law PC, Knoxville
Deborah Farringer, Belmont University College of Law, Nashville
Amber Floyd, Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP, Memphis
Tera Hambrick, Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Care Center Inc., Nashville
Sarah Hannah, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP, Nashville
Whitney Harmon, Baker Donelson, Memphis
Lisa Helton, Sherrard & Roe PLC, Nashville
Jay Ingrum, Phillips & Ingrum, Gallatin
Phil Jacobs, Logan-Thompson PC, Cleveland
Adam Johnson, Nahon Saharovich & Trotz PLC, Memphis
Nina Kumar, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP, Nashville
Ryan Levy, Patterson Intellectual Property Law PC, Nashville
Jeffrey Maddux, Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel PC, Chattanooga
Briana Montminy, Burr & Foreman LLP, Nashville
Jesse Nelson, Law Office of Jesse D. Nelson PLLC, Knoxville
Edd Peyton, Lewis Thomason PC, Memphis
Rita Gibson Rayford, Memphis Area Legal Services, Memphis
Gabe Roberts, Tennessee Department of Health Care Finance & Administration, Nashville
Rachel Rosenblatt, Littler Mendelson PC, Nashville
Costin Shamble, Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation, Nashville
Tom Shumate, Meridian Law PLLC, Nashville
Kimberly Silvus, Wiseman|Ashworth Law Group PLC, Nashville
Elizabeth Sitgreaves, Dodson Parker Behm & Capparealla PC, Nashville
Emily Taylor, Watson, Roach, Batson, Rowell & Lauderback PLC., Knoxville
Mary Wagner, Rice, Amundsen, Caperton PLLC, Memphis
Tyler Weiss, Worthington & Weiss PC, Madisonville
Troy Weston, Eldridge & Blakney PC, Knoxville
Matthew Wilson, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Jackson

Now in its 13th year, Leadership Law is designed to equip Tennessee lawyers with the vision, knowledge and skills necessary to serve as leaders in their profession and local communities. Over the course of six months, class members learn about leadership in the legal profession, issues in the courts, policymaking in state government and the importance of community service.

The 2016 Tennessee Bar Association Annual Convention was held in conjunction with several other legal organizations, including the Tennessee Judicial Conference, the Tennessee Lawyers’ Association for Women (TLAW) and the Tennessee Alliance for Black Lawyers (TABL). This joint meeting allows legal groups in the state to address common issues and concerns and offers opportunities for additional education, long-range planning, and recognition of attorneys who have performed outstanding legal work and community service.

Photographs and additional biographical information for class members are available on request.

Learn more about Leadership Law

2016 Larry Dean Wilks Leadership Award Recipient Jay Ingrum

Download a high resolution version of this photo

Past Recipients of the Wilks Award
2012 – Curtis Bowe, Chattanooga
2013 – Daniel Headrick, Knoxville
2014 – Lynne T. Ingram, Nashville
2015 – Regina Lambert, Knoxville