YLD Fellows Elect Officers, Induct New Members

The TBA YLD Fellows held its annual meeting and inducted new members at the YLD & Fellows Dinner, held in conjunction with the TBA Convention. New officers elected were President J. Russell Parkes, Circuit Court Judge for the 22nd Judicial District in Columbia; Vice President Lisa Richter, the 19th Judicial District Child Support Referee in Clarksville; Secretary Glenn Walter with Lewis Thomason in Knoxville, and Treasurer Danny Van Horn with Butler Snow in Memphis.

The group also inducted 10 new members. They are:

  • Shauna R. Billingsley, City Attorney, Franklin
  • Douglas A. Blaze, University of Tennessee College of Law Dean, Knoxville
  • Janice P. Brown, founder and senior partner, Brown Law Group, San Diego
  • The Hon. Lee Bussart, Marshall County General Sessions Judge, Lewisburg
  • Candi Henry, Dodson Parker Behm & Capparella, Nashville
  • Elizabeth M. “Ellie” Hill, Patrick, Beard, Schulman & Jacoway, Chattanooga
  • The Hon. Holly M. Kirby, Tennessee Supreme Court
  • Aimee Miller Luna, Legal Aid Society, Murfreesboro
  • Christopher W. McCarty, Lewis Thomason, Knoxville
  • William Paul Whitt, Lewis Thomason, Knoxville

Finally, the Fellows awarded its annual William M. Leech Jr. Public Service Award to Claudia Swafford Haltom for her service to the profession as a juvenile court judge and longtime supporter of the TBA and the YLD, and for her service to the community through establishment of A Step Ahead Foundation. The foundation seeks to improve educational, economic and health outcomes for women and their children in Shelby County through offering free long-acting and reversible contraception in order to allow women to prevent unplanned pregnancies. The program has had such an impact here in Memphis that other Tennessee cities are looking at duplicating the concept. Read more about her work.


Memphis lawyer and former judge Claudia Swafford Haltom (left) was named the 2015 Leech Award recipient at the Lawyer's Lunch. She was the only award recipient to receive a standing ovation! Photos by Jenny Jones and Liz Todaro


          | TBA Law Blog