Jackson Judge Recognized for Service to Profession, Public

Chancellor Butler honored at association’s annual convention

NASHVILLE, June 29, 2015 – 26th Judicial District Chancery Court Judge James F. “Jimmy” Butler was honored with the Tennessee Bar Association’s Justice Frank F. Drowota III Outstanding Judicial Service Award for his outstanding and dedicated service to the courts and the legal community. The award was presented by outgoing TBA President Jonathon Steen at a luncheon held in conjunction with the TBA Annual Convention in Memphis on June 19.

Chancellor Butler was recognized for his service to the country and state as a member of the Tennessee Army National Guard for 28 years; his support for the Pro Bono Project, a program that provides legal assistance to the needy in Madison County; and his contributions to educating military personnel and their families about their legal rights and responsibilities.

Butler graduated from Lambuth University, where he later served as general counsel and member of the board of trustees. He attended the University of Tennessee College of Law and earned his law degree in 1966. Prior to being appointed to the bench, he maintained a private law practice in Jackson for 36 years.

The Drowota Award is given to a judge or judicial branch official of a federal, state or local court in Tennessee who has demonstrated extraordinary devotion and dedication to the improvement of the law, the legal system and the administration of justice as exemplified by the career of former Supreme Court Justice Frank F. Drowota III – the award’s first recipient. Thanks to a donation by Justice Drowota and a matching gift from the Frist Foundation, the award allows the recipient to direct a gift of $1,000 to the charity of his or her choice.

The 2015 Tennessee Bar Association Annual Convention was held in conjunction with several other legal organizations, including the Tennessee Judicial Conference, the Tennessee Association for Justice (TAJ) and the Tennessee Lawyers’ Association for Women (TLAW). This joint meeting allows legal groups in the state to address common issues and concerns and offers opportunities for additional education, long-range planning, and recognition of attorneys who have performed outstanding legal work and community service.

Past Award Recipients

2006 – The Honorable Frank F. Drowota, Nashville (first recipient)
Former Tennessee Supreme Court Chief Justice

2007 – Lance Bracy, Nashville
Former Chief Disciplinary Counsel, Tennessee Board of Professional Responsibility

2008 – The Honorable William "Mickey" Barker, Chattanooga
Former Tennessee Supreme Court Justice

2009 – Judge Herschel P. Franks, Chattanooga
Tennessee Court of Appeals, Eastern Section

2010 – The Honorable Barbara Haynes, Nashville
Davidson County Circuit Court Judge

2011 – The Honorable John J. Maddux Jr., Cookeville
13th Judicial District Circuit Court Judge

2012 – The Honorable Robert L. Childers, Memphis
30th Judicial District Circuit Court Judge

2013 – The Honorable Janice M. Holder, Memphis
Former Tennessee Supreme Court Justice

2014 – The Honorable Gary Wade, Sevierville
Tennessee Supreme Court Justice

Drowota-Award-Butler-2015.jpg5.33 MB
          | TBA Law Blog

The Tennessee Bar Association (TBA) is the largest professional association in Tennessee with more than 13,000 members. Founded in 1881, the TBA provides opportunities for continuing legal education, professional development and public service. The TBA’s dedication to serving the state’s legal community is evidenced by its membership roll, which represents the entire spectrum of legal practice: plaintiff and defense lawyers, corporate counsel, judges, prosecutors, public defenders, government lawyers and legal services attorneys.

For More Information

Stacey Shrader Joslin
Tennessee Bar Association
221 Fourth Ave. N., Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37219

Additional Information

Outgoing TBA President Jonathan Steen (left) presents the Drowota award to Chancellor Jimmy Butler.

Download a high resolution version of this photo