More Lawyers Running for Legislature

A report compiled by the Tennessee Bar Association shows that while the number of lawyers serving in the legislature has declined over the last several years, more lawyers are candidates for the General Assembly this year than in the last two election cycles.

The report shows that 25 lawyers are running for 20 seats. In two districts, lawyers are pitted against each other in the primary or will likely face off in the general election. It remains to be seen whether, with the retirement of several lawyer lawmakers, the actual number of lawyers in the General Assembly will increase.


Tennessee State Senate

Office Sought Candidate Website
District 2 Doug Overbey www.senatordougoverbey.com
District 12 Ken Yager www.kenyager.com
District 16 Stevie Ray Roller  
District 16 Justin Walling www.wallingforsenate.com
District 20 Phillip North www.north4senate.com
District 22 Tim Barnes www.senatortimbarnes.com
District 24 John Stevens www.facebook.com/JohnStevensForStateSenate
District 30 Jim Kyle www.senatorjimkyle.com
District 32 Mark Norris www.marknorris.org

Tennessee House of Representatives

Office Sought Candidate Website
District 2 Ben Mallicote www.benmallicote.com
District 5 Duncan Cave facebook.com/duncancatescave
District 4 Thomas Gray http://thomgray.org
District 5 Bradley Mercer  
District 17 Andrew Farmer  
District 29 Mike Carter  
District 41 John Mark Windle  
District 44 William Lamberth www.votelamberth.com
District 44 Steven Glaser  
District 52 Michael Stewart www.electmikestewart.org
District 57 Linda Elam www.lindaelam.com
District 65 Jeremy Durham www.votejeremydurham.com
District 65 Kenny Young www.facebook.com/VoteKennyYoung
District 66 Lee Harrell  
District 71 Vance Dennis www.vancedennis.com
District 82 Craig Fitzhugh www.craigfitzhugh.com