The Judge Pamela L. Reeves Tennessee Professionalism Award is awarded each year to a lawyer or judge whose life and practice display sterling character and unquestioned integrity, coupled with ongoing dedication to the highest standards of the rule of law and the highest standards of the legal profession in Tennessee.

Sponsoring Organizations

The American Inns of Court is an international organization that envisions a legal profession and judiciary dedicated to professionalism, ethics, civility, and excellence. Its mission is to inspire the legal community to advance the rule of law by achieving the highest level of professionalism through example, education, and mentoring. Tennessee is home to nine local American Inns of Court located in Chattanooga, Franklin, Jackson, Knoxville, Memphis, Murfreesboro, and Nashville.

The Tennessee Bar Association (TBA) was founded in 1881. Its membership represents the entire spectrum of the legal profession in Tennessee and beyond. The TBA is open to all licensed attorneys in good standing, and it is dedicated to enhancing fellowship and professionalism among the members of Tennessee’s legal community.


The professionalism award is awarded annually at the TBA's Annual Convention. Candidates for the award are nominated by letter through an open nominations process. Nominating letter should be addressed to the chair of the selection committee and should include sufficient supporting documentation, including either a C.V. or resume, to enable the selection committee to make a reasoned judgment. Supporting letters may accompany the nomination and should be addressed to the chair of the selection committee. 

The award will be presented to a lawyer or judge residing in the Grand Division of Tennessee where the TBA's Annual Convention is held. Nominees must be alive when their nomination is submitted but need not be an active member of an American Inn of Court or the TBA. Nominations of lawyers are given preference in the selection process. The TBA Annual Convention is scheduled to be held in the Western Grand Division (Memphis) in 2021.

• 2021 Nominations Open: April 21
• 2021 Nominations Close: May 7

Previous Honorees

2020 (inaugural year) - Chief Judge Pamela L. Reeves, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee, Knoxville (read more about her selection)

2021 (award named for Judge Reeves) - Major General Albert Harvey, Lewis Thomason, Memphis (read more about his selection)