TBA Public Service Awards

Each year the Tennessee Bar Association recognizes outstanding service by attorneys and law students who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to increasing access to justice for underserved individuals and communities in Tennessee. Awards are presented at the Annual Public Service Awards Luncheon, which is typically held as part of the TBA Leadership Conference.

Awards are presented in three categories:

The Ashley T. Wiltshire Public Service Attorney of the Year, which recognizes an attorney for an indigent client in either civil or criminal defense who provided dedicated and outstanding services during the past year. This award is given to an attorney for representation above and beyond the call of duty of an indigent client and who are or were, employed by an organization primarily involved in providing legal representation to the indigent.

The Harris Gilbert Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes significant pro bono work by a private attorney. This award is given to an attorney who has contributed significant amounts of pro bono work, either in terms of numbers of cases handled or significance of the work as well as one who demonstrates dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor. The work must have occurred within the last 3 years.

The Law Student Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes a student who has provided dedicated and outstanding pro bono services during law school. This award recognizes the efforts of a student enrolled in or graduated from a Tennessee law school during the past year who provided dedicated and outstanding volunteer service while working with an organization primarily engaged in providing legal representation to the indigent. 

Read more about the Awards, as well as a list of previous honorees. 

If you have questions or need more information, please contact TBA Access to Justice Director Liz Todaro at ltodaro@tnbar.org


2020 Public Service Award Honorees

Ashley Wiltshire Public Service Attorney Award Honoree - Tim Hughes, Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services (TALS), Statewide

Harris Gilbert Pro Bono Volunteer Award Honorees - Bill Coley & Ian Hennessey, Knoxville

Law Student Volunteer Award Honoree - Vanessa Zapata, Vanderbilt Law School (2019 Graduate)

Read more about the 2020 Public Service Award Honorees in the April 2020 Tennessee Bar Journal.


Attached File